Chorlton cum Hardy, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chorlton cum Hardy, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chorlton cum Hardy, Lancashire
St. Clement's Churchyard, Chorlton Cum Hardy -.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CHORLTON, (St Clement) as of 1737 was in the parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire, union of Chorlton-upon-Medlock, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3½ miles south by southwest of Manchester. It has had a history of two church sites. In 1839, Chorlton Chapel was designated a parish church. However, by 1860, Chorlton had grown larger and more prosperous, and because the fabric of the brick building was in a poor state of repair, a new building was proposed. Lord Egerton provided land at the corner of what is now St Clement’s Road and Edge Lane for the new church building. After many delays, construction of the new church went ahead and the opening service was held in June 1866. The church was consecrated thirty years later. It was finally demolished in 1949.[1]

Until 1512, the people of Chorlton had to travel to the Ancient Parish church of Manchester, for their baptisms, weddings, and funerals. The prominent Barlow family then established a chapel on what is now Chorlton Green, five minutes walk from the present church. The chapel remained a centre of worship in Chorlton for more than three hundred years.

The original timber-framed chapel was in use until 1779, when a new building was constructed in brick. Although no records prove that it was built on the site of the original chapel, the fact that some 18th Century graves can be found in the graveyard, the oldest dated 1708, suggests this is likely.

The mission church, St Barnabas, is in South Chorlton on the corner of Hardy Lane and Hurstville Road. Both are in the Diocese of Manchester.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions for Chorlton cum Hardy St Clement Chapelry exist, as well as those for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which it was attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
CHORLTON-CUM-HARDY ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1737) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1737-1812 1737-1812 1737-1812
AC 1813-1915 1838-1930 1813-1916
FS 1639;1737-1907 (part.)  None 1753-1916
LOPC 1638;1737-1907 1737-1751;1838-1901 1753-1916 
FREG 1813-1830;1862-1899; 1905-1908 None None
LBMD 1837-1881 1896-1989 None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

Chorlton-cum-Hardy- St Clement
Baptisms-1737-1862- MFPR 178
Baptisms-1862-1886- MFPR 1281
Baptisms-1886-1907- MFPR 1281 or MFPR 2188
Baptisms-1907-1922- MFPR 2188
Baptisms-1922-1938- MFPR 1281 or MFPR 2188
Baptisms-1938-1967- MFPR 1281
Baptisms Transcript-1639-1639- 929.342733 Ch1
Baptisms Transcript-1737-1837- 929.342733 Ch1
Burials-1753-1850- MFPR 178
Burials-1850-1916- MFPR 1286
Burials Transcript-1753-1837- 929.342733 Ch1
Marriages-1737-1751- MFPR 178
Marriages-1838-1939- MFPR 1282 or MFPR 2188 (old church)
Marriages-1896-1901- MFPR 1283 or MFPR 2188 (new church)
Marriages-1901-1922- MFPR 1283
Marriages-1922-1944- MFPR 1284
Marriages-1944-1966- MFPR 1285
Marriages-1966-1979- MFPR 1286
Marriages-1979-1989- Archives M342
Marriages Transcript-1737-1751- 929.342733 Ch1

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for St. Clement's, Chorlton-cum-Hardy, 1639, 1737-1950 Microfilm of original records in the Manchester Archives formerly held at Central Library, Manchester, England.
Chorlton-cum-Hardy is a chapelry in the parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M342/1/1; M342/2/1-5; M342/3/1-3; M342/4/1-7; M342/5/1-3.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1639, 1743-1812 (includes also a transcript by E. Bosdin Leech, 1639, 1737-1747); marriages, 1737-1751; burials, 1753-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1886.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408887 Items 11 - 13
Baptisms, 1886-1938. Marriages, 1838-1939 (old church); 1896-1901 (new church).
FHL BRITISH Film
1408888
Marriages, 1901-1950 (new church).
VAULT BRITISH Film
1408889
Burials, 1813-1916.
VAULT BRITISH Film
1408890 Items 1 - 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1737-1862 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
477544

Bishop's transcripts for St. Clement's Church, Chorlton-cum-Hardy, 1639-1842 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
The chapelry of St. Clement in Chorlton-cum-Hardy is in the parish of Manchester.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/206a

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1639-1640, 1753-1784, 1798-1842.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545644 Item 3



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438731.


Poor Law Unions

Chorlton Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chorlton cum Hardy on GENUKI

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/chorlton-cum-hardy-st-clement/ for information about the parish

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 29 June 2010.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 17:03.
  • This page has been accessed 4,168 times.