Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK (St Savior) was one of eight chapels of ease serving within that township, including St All Saints (1808, St Ambrose (1884), St Clement's (1793), Luke's (1804) and All Saints (1808), St Matthias (1876), and St Stephens (1854), all within the parish boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys (the Cathedral), in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster. The name of this place, formerly Chorlton-Row, was changed, on an act of parliament being obtained for the township, to Chorlton-upon-Medlock, as a better than its ancient designation, the river Medlock (which separates it from the township of Manchester) forming its entire boundary on the north. It was created by the year 1836. There are meeting-houses for Evangelical Friends, Presbyterians, General Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Onine transcriptions exist for St Saviour Chorlton upon Medlock as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and Denys (the Cathedral)--to which it is attached. The online data includes numerous transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials from each of the eight chapelries lying within Chorlton upon Medlock township and all within the boundary of this the largest ancient parish in all of England. Displayed below are the links to the available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk


CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1836-1910 1838-1932 1836-1932
LOPC None 1838-1968 None
LBMD 1837-1936 1838-1968 1837-1883

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL (the ANCIENT PARISH) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616
 CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1808) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1808-1910 1837-1930 1820-1881 - part. 
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1936 1837-1901 1837-1883
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST AMBROSE Chapelry (1884) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1884-1901 1884-1901 1884-1883
CHORTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1793) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1793-1871 None None
LBMD 1837-1900 1837-1939 1837-1883
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST LUKE Chapelry (1805) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1802-1911 - part.  1859-1930 - part.  1819-1871
LOPC 1805-1891 1883-1897 1819-1871 
LBMD 1837-1900 1859-1961 1837-1883
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1876-1913 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1900 1837-1900 1837-1883
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST PAUL Chapelry (1862) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1862-1910  1862-1930 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1862-1900  1862-1968 1837-1883
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1854) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1854-1910 1857-1930 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1854-1900 1857-1968 1837-1883

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438732.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,380 times.