Choseley, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Choseley, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Choseley, Norfolk
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHOSELEY, an extra-parochial tract, in Docking district, Norfolk, 5½ miles W of Burnham-Westgate. [1]
Choseley is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

England Jurisdictions 1851 enables a search of contiguous parishes, click options tab.

Choseley is a tiny hamlet and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated between the villages of Titchwell and Docking and about 4 kilometres (2.5 mi) from each. The town of Fakenham is 20 km (12 mi) to the south-east, the town of King's Lynn is 25 km (16 mi) to the south-west, and the city of Norwich is 60 km (37 mi) to the south-east.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Choseley is an extra parochial place neighbouring Docking, Norfolk, Thornham, Norfolk, Titchwell, Norfolk.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John Maruis,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72) Date accessed: 19 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,434 times.