Chouteau County, MontanaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Chouteau County

Guide to Chouteau County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Montana
Online Records


Chouteau County, Montana
Map
Map of Montana highlighting Chouteau County
Location in the state of Montana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 2, 1865
County Seat Fort Benton
Courthouse
Chouteau County Montana Courthouse.jpg
Address Chouteau County Courthouse
1308 Franklin Street
Fort Benton, MT 59442
Phone: 406.622.5151
Chouteau County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1895*
1882*
1895*
1865
1865
1865
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Chouteau County, Montana census records online, see: Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Fort Benton

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Chouteau County, Montana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Mtchouteau.jpg
  • See an interactive map of Chouteau County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chouteau County, Montana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Chouteau - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1895, burial records and land from 1878; Clerk Courts has marriage records from 1888, divorce and court records from 1879 pro rec from 1892[1]

Family History Centers


Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

Places

Populated Places

Boneau Carter Highwood
Big Sandy Fort Benton Loma
Box Elder Geraldine Parker School

Indian Reservation

The Rocky Boy's Indian Reservation is located primarily in Hill County, with a smaller portion in northeastern Chouteau County.

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 8,711 times.