Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster LaneEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.pngChrist Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane

London Christ Church Newgate Street with St Leonard Foster Lane family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane
St Leonard Foster Lane church ruins
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1275; Separate registers exist for St Nicholas Shambles beginning 1538-1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Leonard Foster Lane beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Leonard Foster Lane church site
"Christ's Church, Newgate Street. This church is dedicated to the name and honour of Christ, and anciently belonged to the convent of Grey Friars or Franciscans, but falling to the crown, at the dissolution of the religious houses, Henry VIII bave it to the mayor, commonalty and the citizens of London, for a parish church, in lieu of the two churches of St Ewen, in Newgate Market, near the north corner of Eldeness, now called Warwick Lane, and of St Nicholas in the Shambles, on the north side of Newgate; both which churches and their parishes were then demolished, and as much of St Sepulchre's parish as laid within Newgate, was added to this  newly created parish, which was then Christ Church. From this time it was made a vicarage in the patronage of the mayor, commonalty and citizens of London, as governors of the Royal Hospital of St Bartholomew."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), Christ Church Newgate Street Parish united with St Leonard Foster Lane Parish.[2]


St Leonard Foster Lane belongs to Aldersgate Ward. The parish church has been demolished.


Only the tower of Christ Church Newgate stands today.[3] The parish was also known as Christ Church Greyfriars Newgate.

1848 parish description:
Christchurch with St. Leonard, Foster-lane are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is St. Bartholomew’s Hospital, and the Dean and Chapter of Westminster, the appropriators, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

Resources

Church records

Christ Church Newgate Street Parish

Online Christ Church Newgate Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1540
1540
Images
1538-1588 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1906 Ancestry[6] 1758-1921 Ancestry[7] 1814-1836 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1538-1753 TheGenealogist[9] 1540-1753 FindMyPast[10] 1540-1753 TheGenealogist[9]
1538-1753 InternetArchive[11] 1542-1753 TheGenealogist[9] 1540-1753 InternetArchive[11]
1538-1754 FreeReg[12] 1542-1753 FreeReg[12] 1540-1754 FreeReg[12]
1639-1640 BritishOrigins[13] 1542-1753 InternetArchive[11]
1639-1640
1802
BritishOrigins[14]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[15]    

St Leonard Foster Lane Parish

Online St Leonard Foster Lane Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1639
1639
1639
Images
1639-1809 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1841 Ancestry[6] 1800-1831 Ancestry[7] 1813-1836 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1639-1640
1800-1802
1808
BritishOrigins[13]
1639-1640
1800-1802
1808
BritishOrigins[14] 1811-1854 FindMyPast[16]
    1639-1808 FindMyPast[10]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[15]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

1547 Subsidy

  • Christchurch, Newgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Leonard, Foster Lane (including Bell Court and St Martin le Grand Street), Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1625 Subsidies

  • Christchurch, Newgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • Christchurch, Newgate, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Leonard, Foster Lane, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Martin le Grand, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1666 Hearth Tax

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Leonard, Foster Lane, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Leonard Foster Lane fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. Christ Church Newgate Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[17] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Christ Church churchyard site
Transcripts of early Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the Christ Church Newgate churchyard, as well as King Edward Street churchyard.[19]


A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Leonard Foster Lane churchyard.[19]

Some monumental inscriptions from these parish churchyards have been preserved at Postman's Park. For photographs, see Wikimedia Commons.

Christ Church Greyfriars Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (20+ entries)

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in Bagnio Court in Christ Church Newgate Street Parish the unique surname Bagnio. Those found at the Bluecoat School often received the surname Blewcoat or Bluecoat. Christchurch was also given as a surname.[20]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Leonard Foster Lane
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Christ Church Greyfriars

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. "Christ Church Newgate (Tower only)", Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christ Church, Newgate Street in the City of London | Christ Church and St Leonard, Foster Lane in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. 8.0 8.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Christchurch in the City of London | St Leonard Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  10. 10.0 10.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Willoughby A. Littledale, The Registers of Christ Church, Newgate, 1538 to 1754 (London: Harleian Society, 1895).
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  13. 13.0 13.1 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  14. 14.0 14.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  17. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  19. 19.0 19.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  20. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 17:40.
  • This page has been accessed 15,146 times.