Christchurch, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Christchurch

Christchurch, Hampshire
Christchurch Priory, Dorset.jpg
Christchurch Priory
Type Ancient parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Christchurch
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Bournemouth and Christchurch PLU
Registration District Christchurch
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christchurch
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester

The town now known as Christchurch has existed since 650 and was was originally known as Twynham, from "tweon eam", meaning (the settlement) between two rivers. It was not until the construction of the priory in 1094 that the town became known as Christchurch.

Contents

Parish History

CHRISTCHURCH (Holy Trinity), a borough, sea-port, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Christchurch, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 21½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Southampton, and 100 (S. W. by W.) from London.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Christchurch Priory Hampshire.png

Church records

Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
CHRISTCHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1584-1590, 1635-1643, 1682-1838
1634-1642, 1682-1762

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1838-1876
1633-1643, 1682-1876

NBI

1682-1837
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288800.

Genealogy from Periodicals

Kiff, Cathryn A. W. My Father's Family - 140 Years in Christchurch.  Photos and family names and history of William Ford Tilley and Sarah Elizabeth Alford, and their descendants.  Photo of 23 Douglas Avenue home, also of Kings Ave, 1940 with Ted's delivery van, with his brother Cecil and Brian Wright's small boy between them.  Other names, Wright, Mabey, Lane, Brown Rayner, Sandell, Craig, D'Angibau, Lawrence, Evans, Jenkins, Lane.  Article in The Hamshire Family Historian, vol. 30 no.3, pages 173-177, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 607-612. Date accessed: 18 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 24 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:39.
  • This page has been accessed 5,856 times.