Christian County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Christian County
Guide to Christian County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 39.55°0′N 89.28°0′W / 39.55°N 89.28°W
| Christian County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 15, 1839 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Taylorville |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Christian County Courthouse 101 South Main Street Taylorville, Illinois 62568 (217) 824-4969 Christian County Website |
Christian County Organization
Christian County's civil records start the following years:
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 | 1839 | 1877 | 1840 | 1828 | 1839 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Christian County are kept, see the Christian County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Large numbers of Kentuckians settled in frontier Christian County, Illinois. The name of the county (Christian) is reminiscent of Christian County, Kentucky - the previous residence of many pioneer settlers.[1]
Boundary Changes
- 15 February 1839: -- Christian County was created fromSangamon and Shelby Counties. It was formerly Dane County, until the name was changed to Christian County 1 February 1840. [2]
- Interactive map of Christian County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Records and Resources
Biography
The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Christian County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Christian County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Business and Commerce
Cemeteries
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. See the Illinois Cemeteries state wiki page for more information.
Published Records
- The Family History Library Catalog lists records of cemeteries in Christian County. Cemetery books may be on Google Books or available at public libraries. Search for Christian County Illnois.
- Books about Christian County cemeteries are located at many libraries (WorldCat). Explore the wiki page about how to search WorldCat.
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Find A Grave, list of cemeteries. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)
- Christian Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- Linkpendium links to a number of cemetery and tombstone projects in Christian County.
Cemetery Gazetteers
Census
For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.
Federal
State
Church History and Records
Illinois' GenWeb for Christian County has a list of churches in the county as they appear in the telephone directory. They are listed by denomination with addresses and telephone numbers.
The Family History Library has very few church records, and they represent different denomination. The Library's church records are found on the town, not the county, level.
Timeline of major denominations in Christian County:[3]
- 1842 Christian Church. The first preacher may have been W.P. Bowles who was invited to preach by a Baptist minister.
- 1846 Roman Catholic Church organized in Taylorsville, the first town organized in the County
- 1848 Baptist Church
- 1852 United Presbyterian Church began with meetings of the Associate Reform Church
- 1855 Methodist Episcopal Church
- 1856 Presbyterian Church first organized in Pana
- 1856 Congregational Church
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Christian County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.
- 1868-1979 Jail Registers IRAD-UIS
Directories
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Gazetteers
Genealogy
Mailing Lists
Message Boards
History
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Christian County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.
Online Resources
- BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Christian County from the Government Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patent details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLOis the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales. The Illinois State Archives has an online index to the records of Public land sales held by the State Archives. The indexes are by purchasers name and by legal description. This is a statewide collection with nearly 550,000 land sales fro 54740 square miles.
- "Illinois Public Land Purchase Records" This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at ancestry.com ($)
- "U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796 to 1907" Available at ancestry.com ($) Records of Illinois are among the 13 states included in this set. It includes images of the land patents which contain the information necessary for ordering the complete case files from the National Archives. This appears to be the same information that is online at the Federal Land Office site http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/.
- Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Explains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.
Copies of original records
- 1828–1847 Land patent record FHL film 9865067
- 1839–1886 Grantor and grantee indexes FHL film 989022 (first of 5 films)
- 1839–1914 Deeds FHL film 989027 (first of 36 films)
- 1852–1866 Swamp land records FHL film 1688801 Item 1
- 1868–1890 Quit claim deed FHL film 986506-7
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Christian County land and property may be found in the FHLC and FHLC–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Maps
Military History and Records
Civil War
Civil War service men from Christian County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Christian County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company M.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 14th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 35th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 41st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and I.
- - 54th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and E.
- - 116th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and H.
- - 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C.
- - 145th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Probate Records
Original probate records are held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. For more information see the wiki page Illinois Probate Records. No probate records are held at IRAD for Christian County. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS. The following copies are available in the Family History Library Catalog:
- 1839–1919 Probate Records FHL Film 986730–986732
- 1839–1886 Probate Records FHL Film 986724–986729
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Christian County are kept, see the Christian County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
There are no family history centers in Christian County. It appears that the nearest centers are:
- Springfield Illinois Family History Center
3601 Buckeye Dr.
Springfield, Illinois 62707
Contact: 217-529-7930
Open selected hours: Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday
- Litchfield Illinois Family History Center
12367 Robertson Rd
Litchfield, Illinois 62056
Contact: 217-324-2396
Open selected hours on Tuesday, Thursday
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
The Archives hold many records for Greene County. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page
Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520
Public Libraries
Assumption Public Library District
205 North Oak Street
Assumption, IL 62510
Phone: (217) 226-3915
Website
Kitchell Memorial Library
300 Se 5th Street
Morrisonville, IL 62546
Phone: (217) 526-4553
Carnegie-Schuyler Library
303 East Second Street
Pana, IL 62557
Phone: (217) 562-2326
Taylorville Public Library
121 West Vine Street
Taylorville, IL 62568
Phone: (217) 824-4736
Website
Taylorsville Library has a small genealogy room with materials that are not cataloged.
Social Groups Online
Societies
Christian County Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 28
Taylorville, Illinois 62568-0028
Library Hours:
- Summer April through November: Thursday through Saturday 10 am to 3 pm
- Winter hours (December thru March):Saturday 11:00a.m. – 4:00p.m.
The genealogical society is located in the Pence Building, the Christian County Historical Museum.
Christian County Historical Society and Museum
Address:
P.O. Box 254
Taylorville, IL 62568-0028
Phone: 217-824-6922
E-mail: cchs254@gmail.com
Location:
325 Abe’s Way (in front of the Super 8 Motel)
Near the intersection of Routes 29 and 48
Taylorville, IL 62568
The Christian County Historical Society and Museum is dedicated to preserving the ancestry and the history of Christian County Illinois. They have extensive genealogical resources as well as an impressive collection of material culture.
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded since 1877 are kept by the Christian County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1877 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
Copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Universtiy of Illinois–Springfield(UIS). Search Christian County records in the Local Governmental Records Holdings Database . For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.
Explore Christian County vital records found in the Family History Library Catalog. Other libraries(at WorldCat) also hold copies of abstracted Christian County vital records. (How to explore WorldCat).
Births
- 1877–1925 Birth records index IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records.
- 1878–1915 Birth certificates IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records.
- 1877–1916 Birth records IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records. 1002001(first of 39 films)
Marriages
Some of the Family History Library's Collection of Christian County marriages have been or will be made available digitally: Illinois County Marriages, 1810-1934.
- 1763–1900 Marriages Courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- 1831–1902 Statewide Marriage Index search for Christian County records.
- 1839–1921 Marriage Records IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records. FHL Film 987611 (first of 4 films)
- 1840–1908 Marriage Index. Dates are approximate.{[RecordSearch|1803970}}
- 1866–1924 Marriage records index IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records. FHL Film 987610
- 1839–1850 Illinois Marriages 1790 to 1860. Search for Christian county records.Ancestry ($). The source of this collection is films in the Family History Library's collection
- 1851–1900 Illinois Marriages 1851 to 1900. Search for Christian county records.Ancestry ($)The source of this collection is films in the Family History Library's collection
- 1855–1866 Miscellaneous Marriages Courtesy of USGenWeb.
Deaths
- 1877–1915Statewide Death Index Search for Christian County records.
- 1877–1931 Death record index IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records.
- 1878–1927 Death Records Index FHL Films 987608–987609
- 1877–1915 Death Records IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for Christian County records.
- 1878–1917 Death Records FHL Films 1002008–1002010
- 1916–1950 Statewide Death Index
- 1916–1950 Death Records Courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- 1913–1915 Death records, coroners IRAD-UIS. How to Use IRAD search for ChristianCounty records. FHL Film 987609 Item 3
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Christian County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Hardin County Fact Sheet, Illinois State Archives, accessed May 28, 2011.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092, FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Illinois Sesquicentennial Edition of Christian County History; ed. Dorthy D. Drennan et.al. Jacksonville, Illinois: Production Press, 1968 FHL book 977.381 H2i
| |||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:01.
- This page has been accessed 3,321 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


