Christian County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Christian County
Guide to Christian County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Christian County, Kentucky | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | December 13, 1796 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Hopkinsville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| |||||||
Christian County Kentucky Courthouse
| | |||||
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Census | Deeds | Wills |
| 1852 | 1797 | 1852 | 1810 | 1797 | 1797 |
Christian County Courthouse
511 S Main Street
Hopkinsville, KY 42240-2300
Phone: 270.887.4105[1]
Christian County Kentucky History
Parent County
1796--Christian County was created 13 December 1796 from Logan County.
County seat: Hopkinsville [2]
Boundary Changes
County Pronunciation
Record Loss
1864--A disaster destroyed most records.
Christian County Kentucky Places / Localities
Populated Places
| Apex | Dogwood | Hawkins | Merrittstown |
| Bainbridge | Edgoten | Hensleytown | Newstead |
| Bakersport | Empire | Herndon | Oak Grove |
| Barkers Mill | Era | Honey Grove | Ovil |
| Bennettstown | Fairview | Hopkinsville | Peedee |
| Beverly | Fearsville | Howel | Pembroke |
| Binns Mill | Fedelio | Julien | Pleasant Green Hill |
| Bluff Spring | Fort Campbell | Kelly | Pleasant Hill |
| Carl | Fruit Hill | Kennedy | Saint Elmo |
| Casky | Garrettsburg | LaFayette | Sinking Fork |
| Church Hill | Gracey | Mannington | West Brook |
| Crofton | Haleys Mill | Masonville |
Neighboring Counties
Christian County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African Americans
United States African Americans
Kentucky African Americans
- the KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
Biographies
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Christian Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project Tombstone Transcription Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Christian County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- TheFamily History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Christian County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Christian County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 1 page 11 - Barnes Cemetery
Vol. 1 page 13 - Dunning Farm Cemetery
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1800 | 2,318 | ||
| 1810 | 11,020 | 375.4% | |
| 1820 | 10,459 | −5.1% | |
| 1830 | 12,684 | 21.3% | |
| 1840 | 15,587 | 22.9% | |
| 1850 | 19,580 | 25.6% | |
| 1860 | 21,627 | 10.5% | |
| 1870 | 23,227 | 7.4% | |
| 1880 | 31,682 | 36.4% | |
| 1890 | 34,118 | 7.7% | |
| 1900 | 37,962 | 11.3% | |
| 1910 | 38,845 | 2.3% | |
| 1920 | 35,883 | −7.6% | |
| 1930 | 34,283 | −4.5% | |
| 1940 | 36,129 | 5.4% | |
| 1950 | 42,359 | 17.2% | |
| 1960 | 56,904 | 34.3% | |
| 1970 | 56,224 | −1.2% | |
| 1980 | 66,878 | 18.9% | |
| 1990 | 68,941 | 3.1% | |
| 2000 | 72,265 | 4.8% | |
| Est. 2007 | 80,868 | 11.9% | |
| http://ksdc.louisville.edu/ | |||
For tips on accessing Christian County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Adams] Maloney, James Hallett. "Drury Hatcher of Cumberland County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 49, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2005):243-256; Vol. 50, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2006):51-59. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp.
- [Cocke] Hart, Lyndon H. "The Cocke Family in Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):41-61; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):146-156; Vol. 44, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2000):203-215; Vol. 44, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2000):309-315; Vol. 45, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2001):23-36; Vol. 45, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2001):132-148; Vol. 45, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2001):208-219; Vol. 45, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2001):278-288; Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2002):42-46. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
- [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "John Finley of Montgomery/Wythe County, Virginia: Additional Children Identified," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1995):3-22; Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1995):94-103; Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):202-212; Vol. 39, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1995):282-294. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 39 (1995).
- [Henry] Rivers, Flournoy. "The Flournoy Family," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jul. 1894):81-90; Vol. 2, No. 2 (Oct. 1894):190-213; Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jan. 1895):318-327; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Apr. 1895):437-447; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1895):67-79; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Apr. 1896):414-416; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1896):97-101. Digitized by JSTOR - free.
- [Sassin] Allen, Cameron. "Francois Sasin/Sassin of Manakin Town: The First Six Generations of the Sassin/Sasseen Family in America," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1993):3-17; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1993):99-116; Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):193-205; Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):259-271. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
- [Shipp] Sanders, Walter R. The Shipp Genealogy from Essex, Caroline, Fa[u]quier Counties, Virginia, to Green, Taylor, Woodford, Jefferson, Fayette, Christian, Bourbon, Scott, Owen, Counties, Kentucky, and Johnson Counties, Indiana. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Book 929.273 Sh64s; FHL Film 875372 Item 5
Land
- The KY Land Office
- The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Christian County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
Local Histories
- Fowler, W.T. Christian County, Kentucky. Hopkinsville, Ky.: n.p., 1915. Digital version at Kentuckiana Digital Library.
- Perrin, William Henry. Counties of Christian and Trigg, Kentucky: Historical and Biographical. Chicago; Louisville: F.A. Battey, 1884. Digital version at Kentuckiana Digital Library.
- ~ The Archives of Appalachia
Maps
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
Miscellaneous
- KY Postcards Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- 1874-2008 - Kentucky New Era (Hopkinsville, Ky.) at Google News - free.
- 1887-1912 - Weekly Kentucky New Era (Hopkinsville, Ky.) at Google News - free.
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate
- 1797-1921 - Will Books (1797-1921) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
- 1797 - "Christian County Tax List 1797," Tree Builders, Christian County Genealogical Society, Vol. 28, No. 1 (Spring 2007):5-10. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 1798 - "Christian County Tax List 1798," Tree Builders, Christian County Genealogical Society, Vol. 28, No. 1 (Spring 2007):5-13. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Christian County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[4] digitized by Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1862 - Christian County Birth Index 1852-1862. Batch C517221 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1874-1875 - Christian County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517222 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
- 1852-1860 - Christian County Marriage Index 1852-1860. Batch M517221 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1852-1861 - Christian County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517225 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1874-1875 - Christian County Marriage Index 1874-1875. Batch M517223 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1876-1878 - Christian County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517224 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Unsorted
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- KY Births & Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
- KY Deaths & Burials ~ KY Deaths & Burials 1843 - 1970
- KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages 1783 - 1979 ~ Family Search
- "Christian Co., KY Marriage Bonds through 1820," published in Tree Builders, Christian County Genealogical Society, Vol. 22 (2001), beginning on page 44. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records - 1973 - 2000
- KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
Christian County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Christian County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- [1] USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Christian County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Christian County Kentucky Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Christian County, Kentucky page 269, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
- ↑ G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 27 March 2013, at 23:51.
- This page has been accessed 4,053 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




