Christleton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Christleton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Christleton, Cheshire
St James' Church, Christleton.jpg
St James' Church, Christleton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Christleton St James is an ancient parish in Cheshire including Cotton Abbotts, Rowton, Littleton, and Cotton Edmunds. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Chester.

The name of the village is recorded in the Domesday Book and it is likely that a church was on the site at this time. In 1093 the patronage of the church was given to the monks of St Werburgh's Abbey, Chester. The church was rebuilt in stone around 1490 and the tower built at this time is still present.

Christleton is a small village and civil parish on the outskirts of Chester in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

CHRISTLETON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, comprising the townships of Christleton, Abbots-Cotton, Edmunds-Cotton, Littleton, and Rowton; 2 miles (E. by S.) from Chester. The parish is situated on the road from London to Shrewsbury, via Whitchurch. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Christleton St James the Apostle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Christleton St James the Apostle Parish (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1701-1812

FS PR's 1600-1909
  NONE
1600-1934
  NONE
1668-1969
  NONE
FS BT'S 1787-1859   NONE
1699-1840
  NONE
1666-1840
  NONE
JOIN
1698-1812

PALL
1790-1812

TGEN
1697-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Christleton, 1697-1969 Cheshire Record Office call number: P 28/1/1-2, P 28/2/1-3, P 28/3/1-7, P 28/4, P 28/5/1-5.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1755-1812. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1754. Burials in woollen, 1678-1689. BRITISH
2069042 Items 7 - 10
Baptisms, 1813-1928. Marriages, 1754-1812, 1814-1948. Banns of marriages, 1883-1923. BRITISH
2069043
Burials, 1813-1969. BRITISH
2069044 Items 1 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Christleton, 1600-1859 Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 64

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's Transcript Content Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1840. BRITISH
1655593 Item 3
Baptisms, 1841-1854.  Baptisms, burials, 1840, 1859. BRITISH
1655594 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Christleton, Methodist Chapel. ReBuilt in 1888.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office 1 volume. 1926-30 Christleton (CR 55/90-91; CR 55/2/43-46) within Chester Methodist Circuit. The Cheshire Record Office records that the church opened in 1888.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  Great Boughton (1837–71)see Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Chester Poor Law Union from 1871-1930

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Christleton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topigraphical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 177–178, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 4,039 times.