Chudleigh Knighton, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chudleigh Knighton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Chudleigh Knighton, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot PLU|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1875; For more records see Hennock and also Bovey Tracey|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
CHUDLEIGH KNIGHTON can be found under HENNOCK, a village and a parish in Newton-Abbot district, Devon. The village stands near the river Teign and the Moreton-Hampstead railway, 3 miles WNW of Chudleigh, and 6 SE by S of Moreton-Hampstead; and has a post office under Exeter. The parish includes also the hamlet of Knighton. The living is a vicarage, united with the chapelry of Knighton, in the diocese of Exeter. There is a chapel of ease, in the early English style, at Knighton; and a small Wesleyan chapel, in Hennock village.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241324.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted, Date Accessed: 25 October 2013.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:17.
- This page has been accessed 2,371 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page