Church Aston, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Church Aston, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church Aston, Shropshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Newport PLU
Registration District Newport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620; For more records see Edgmond
Bishop's Transcripts: 1681
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHURCH-ASTON, a chapelry in Edgmond parish, Shropshire; 1 mile S of Newport.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church Aston, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Church Aston, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1620-1856 1620-1671, 1681-1844

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1681-1860 Marr 1681-1844 Bur 1681- 1859

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474581.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, of britian/report.aspx?=50741Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72), pp. 612-616. Date accessed: 30 May 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 16:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,293 times.