Church Coniston, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Church Coniston, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church Coniston St Andrew Lancashire.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

CONISTONE, CHURCH, (St Andrew) was created a chapel of ease by 1599, taken from and lying within the boundaries of Ulverston, Lancashire, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster,6 miles (S. W.) from Ambleside. Having been within the boundaries of the historic county of Lancashire since 1182, Coniston was part of the administrative county of Lancashire between 1889 and 1974. Today Coniston forms part of Cumbria. The village is situated at the head of Coniston Water, the third longest lake in the Lake District. The modern parish is within the Diocese of Carlisle. [1]

See also Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Ulverston Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Coniston chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ulverston to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


CONISTON ST ANDREW Chapelry  (1599) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1701, 1875-1880 1604-1700 1871-1881
LOPC 1690-1875 1690-1836, 1839-1855 1691-1810, 1813-1871
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1604-1836 None
AC 1599-1700 1599-1700 1599-1700
FREG 1599-1701 1604-1700 1600-1701
ULVERSTON ST MARY PARISH (1545) Indexes (ancient parish containing CONISTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1546-1910 1545-1914 1678-1903
LOPC 1771-1780, 1813-1841 1545-1617, 1771-1780, 1821-1841 1771-1780, 1814-1841
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1545-1837 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Coniston and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ulverston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ULVERSTON PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-682. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,612 times.