Church Eaton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Church Eaton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church Eaton, Staffordshire
Church Eaton St Editha Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penkridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EATON, CHURCH (St. Edith), a parish, in the union of Penkridge, hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Stafford. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Church Eaton like this:

CHURCH-EATON, a village and a parish in Penkridge district, Stafford. The village stands near the Birmingham and Liverpool canal, 2¼ miles SSE of Gnosall r. station, and 5½ NW of Penkridge; and has a post office under Stafford. The parish includes also the villages of Marston, Wood-Eaton, Oun, Goosemere, Orslow, and Eaton-Green.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church Eaton St Editha parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
CHURCH EATON PARISH (1694) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1881


FMP 1548-1901 1548-1901 1557-1876 1557-1876 1548-1876 1548-1876
FREG

1813-1928
FS 1660-1854
1660-1840

NBI

1694-1883

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1538-2008 Mar 1538-1998 Bur 1538-2008
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1854 Mar 1660-1835 Bur 1660-1854 Missing Bap/Bur 1853/1854

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/ChurchEaton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,671 times.