Church Hulme, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Church Hulme

Guide to Church Hulme, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Church Hulme, Cheshire
Holmes Chapel St Luke.jpg
Holmes Chapel St Luke
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

St Lukes, Holmes Chapel, [formerly Church Hulme] is an ecclesiastical parish in Cheshire formerly a chapelry in  Sandbach St Mary, Cheshire Ancient Parish.

St Luke's Church, Holmes Chapel is in the village of Holmes Chapel, Cheshire, England. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the deanery of Congleton.

CHURCH-HULME, is a township-chapelry and a sub-district, in Congleton district, Cheshire. The chapelry lies on the river Dane, and on the Manchester and Birmingham railway, 6½ miles WNW of Congleton; it is in the parish of Sandbach; it also bears the name of Holmes-Chapel; and has a station of that name on the railway, and a post office of the same name under Middlewich. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Church Hulme (alias Holmes Chapel) St Luke chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Church Hulme St Luke Chapelry (1613) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1615-1909
  NONE
1625-1879
  NONE
1613-1903
  NONE
FS BT'S 1658-1899   NONE
1670-1841
  NONE
1658-1898
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Church-Hulme, 1613-1963

Church-Hulme was a chapelry in Sandbach parish. Church-Hulme separated to become a parish in 1866.
Early parish registers usually have baptisms, marriages, and burials intermixed until 1813 when baptisms and burials were recorded on printed form registers. Marriages and marriage banns were recorded on printed form registers as early as 1754. Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P82/1/1-3, P82/2, P82/6126/1, P82/3/1-2, P82/4, P82/5/1-2, P82/6576/1, 3, 4, 16.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish registers for Church-Hulme, 1613-1963 FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1613-1812 (marriages to 1754). Baptisms, 1813-1923. Marriages, 1754-1837. Banns of marriages, 1840-1878. Burials, 1813-1903. BRITISH 2262707 Items 1 - 10
Baptisms, 1841-1923. BRITISH
2262741 Item 10
Baptisms, 1923-1963. Marriages, 1837-1956. Burials, 1903-1961. 2356795 Items 2 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Church-Hulme, 1576-1898 Chapelry (later a parish) in Sandbach parish. Also called St. Luke's Church. Cheshire Record Office Call number: EDB 65

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts for Church-Hulme, 1576-1898 FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1577, 1596, 1600, 1604, 1608, burials, 1607-1609, 1611, 1613-1615, 1617, 1619-1620, 1622, 1624, 1626, 1632-1636, 1658-1660, 1663, 1666-1669, 1672, 1676, 1670-1683, 1685-1690, 1692, 1692-1757, 1759-1762, 1764-1821, 1823, 1827-1828, 1831-1832, 1834, 1835-1837, 1839-1841. Baptisms, 1855-1865. Burials, 1865. Baptisms, burials, 1833, 1838, 1866, 1874, 1876, 1867, 1869, 1868, 1870, 1873, 1871-1872, 1877, 1875, 1878-1898. BRITISH
1655594 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Church Hulme, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1813, rebuilt in 1900. Registers of baptisms 1844–1973 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Church Hulme, Methodist Chapel (Free). Built in 1851. With burial ground.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records for the Knutsford Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Church-Hulme, 1844-1973

Cheshire Record Office call number: EMS 187.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search).

Church records for the Knutsford Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Church-Hulme, 1844-1973 FHL Film
Baptisms, 1844-1882, 1901-1973. BRITISH
2299472 Item 4

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013

Bibliography

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 42–43, ISBN 1871731232
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 186–190

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 16:38.
  • This page has been accessed 4,143 times.