Church Lawton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Church Lawton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church Lawton, Cheshire
Church Lawton Cheshire.jpg
Church Lawton Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Church Lawton is a small village and civil parish (sometimes known as Lawton) located in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire in England. Its location is such that its eastern boundary forms part of the county boundary between Cheshire and Staffordshire and, because of its close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent, the parish has a Stoke-on-Trent postcode. The parish also contains the hamlets of Lawton Gate, Lawton Heath and Lawton Heath End, and the Lawton Hall estate

Church Lawton, All Saints is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire.

The church was founded around the end of the 11th century. The body of the church was destroyed by fire in 1798 and rebuilt by 1803. Following the fire of 1798 the body of the church was rebuilt in brick in neoclassical style.

Church Lawton is an ancient parish, though there is some evidence that it began by being part of the ancient parish of Astbury (now Newbold Astbury.). It also was part of Nantwich Hundred, Congleton Poor Law Union, Rural Sanitary District, and after 1866 it formed part of Congleton Rural District.

CHURCH-LAWTON, a parish in Congleton district, Cheshire; on the Trent and Mersey canal, adjacent to the Macclesfield and Colwich railway, 1½ mile NNW of Kidsgrove Junction railway station, and 5 SSW of Congleton. Post town, Lawton, under Stoke-upon-Trent. There is a Methodist chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Church Lawton All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Church Lawton All Saints Parish (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1559-1924
  NONE
1559-1966
  NONE
FS BT'S 1608-1879   NONE
1608-1830
  NONE
1608-1879
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Church-Lawton, 1559-1966  Cheshire Record Office call number: P109/4501/1-2, P109/4795/1-2,10-12.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search). Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, 1559-1683, 1685-1752. Marriages, burials, 1559-1752. BRITISH
1894521 Items 1 - 2
Marriages, 1753-1838. Banns, 1813-1905. Burials,1860-1881. Churchwardens' accounts, 1691-1734. Constable's accounts, 1634-1766. Burials & baptisms 1752-1859. BRITISH
1886038
Baptisms, 1859-1990. Marriages, 1837-1924. Burials, 1881-1913. BRITISH
1894521 Items 3 - 5
Burials, 1806-1807. BRITISH
2093373 Item 3
Burials, 1913-1966. BRITISH
2093666 Items 7 - 8

Bishop's transcripts for Church-Lawton, 1596-1879 Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 66. 

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical records (formerly Record Search).

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1598, 1610-1611, 1613-1615, 1617-1618, 1620-1621, 1623-1624, 1626-1628, 1630, 1633-1635, 1638-1639, 1641, 1660, 1664-1666, 1668-1669, 1671-1672, 1674-1676, 1679-1685, 1690-1704, 1708-1712, 1714-1717, 1720-1722, 1724-1824, 1830. Marriages, 1827, 1829. Baptisms, burials, 1825-1829, 1839. BRITISH
1655594 Item 3
Burials, 1839. Baptisms, burials, 1864-1879. BRITISH
1655595 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Hall Green, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1874.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998) Online events may be searched at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Church Lawton on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 129–132

Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 124, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 3,406 times.