Church Minshull, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Church Minshall

Guide to Church Minshull, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Church Minshull village from the Shropshire Union Middlewich Branch Canal.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Church Minshull St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire including Paradise Green, Wood Green, and Wades Green.

St Bartholomew's Church, Church Minshull is in the village of Church Minshull, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with those of St Mary,  Acton, Cheshire, St David,  Wettenhall, Cheshire, and St Oswald, Worleston.

Church Minshull is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village is located approximately 5 miles (8.0 km) north west of Crewe and to the west of the River Weaver and the Shropshire Union Canal.

MINSHULL, CHURCH (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Nantwich. The parish is situated on the river Weaver. Cheese is made in great quantities. There is a place of worship forIndependents.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church records

Church Minshull St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Church Minshull St Bartholomew Parish (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1561-1909
  NONE
1572-1934
  NONE
1560-1874
  NONE
FS BT'S 1605-1898   NONE
1605-1856
  NONE
1605-1898
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Church Minshull, 1561-1983 Cheshire Record Office call number: P12/1/1-2, P12/2/1, P12/3/1-2, P12/4/1, P12/6124/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1672. Baptisms, burials, 1672-1850.
Marriages, 1672-1755, 1761-1837. Burials, 1851-1874. Rough registers (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1796-1835. Copy register--index, 1561-1611, 1726-1768.
BRITISH
2262977 Items 3 - 15
Baptisms, 1813-1979. Marriages, 1838-1983. BRITISH
2262741 Items 8 - 9

Bishop's transcripts for Church Minshull, 1605-1898 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB/67.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England Bishops Transcripts is available at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605, 1609-1610, 1614-1618, 1621-1622, 1624, 1623, 1637, 1639-1640, 1648, 1658-1664, 1666, 1668-1670, 1672-1685, 1687-1689, 1691-1705, 1707-1739, 1742-1743, 1745-1818, 1820-1837, 1852-1856. Baptisms, burials, 1745-1870, 1884-1898. BRITISH
1656841 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605, 1609-1610, 1614-1618, 1621-1624, 1637, 1639-1640, 1648, 1658-1664, 1666, 1668-1670, 1672-1685, 1687-1689, 1691-1705, 1707-1739, 1742-1743, 1745-1837, 1852-1856. Baptisms & burials, 1745-1870, 1884-1898. BRITISH
1655595 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central ( post1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1963. Date Accessed: 19 February 2013

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 132–136
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 179, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,911 times.