Churchill County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Churchill County
Guide to Churchill County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Churchill County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nevada | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 25, 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Fallon |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Churchill County Administrative Complex 155 N. Taylor Street Fallon, NV 89406 |
| Website: www.churchillcounty.org | |
| Named for: Sylvester Churchill | |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: Churchill County was created 25 November 1861 as an original county. [1]
- County Seat: Fallon
- Neighboring Counties: Elko | Eureka | Humboldt | Nye | Pershing
Churchill County was named for Fort Churchill (which today is actually in Lyon County), which had been named for General Sylvester Churchill, a Mexican-American War hero who was Inspector General of the U.S. Army in 1861. Churchill County was not organized until 1864, and its county seats were Bucklands (1861-64) which is now in Lyon County, La Plata (1864-68), Stillwater (1868-1904) and Fallon (1904-present). In the nineteenth century there were several attempts to eliminate Churchill County because of its small population, but Assemblyman Lemuel Allen was able to stop it on all occasions including convincing the Governor to veto the bill after it had been passed by both houses in 1875.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
- Churchill County records FHL
Cemeteries
Census
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
- Early Nevada records: certificates of survey, Carson Valley, 1856; 1862 census of Churchill County; 1864 census of Nye County FHL
- Missourians in the 1870 census records of Churchill County, Nevada [and]... Douglas County, Nevada FHL
Church Records
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Fallon
Episcopal
- Holy Trinity Episcopal
http://trinityfallon.diocesenv.org/]
507 Churchill Street
Fallon, Nevada 89406
775–423–3551
- Holy Trinity Episcopal
- Churchill County records FHL
Membership rolls 1906 and 1943
Baptisms, confirmations, communicants 1907-1933
marriages 1913-1940
burials 1917-1957
- Churchill County records FHL
Court Records
Directories
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
- Churchill County records FHL
Genealogy
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
History
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
- The Humboldt range: 19th century mining camps FHL
Land and Property
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900 : a researchers guide FHL
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Churchill County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:[2]
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Truckee (River) Trail 1844 crossed the Forty Mile Desert to the Truckee River to follow it west past Reno, Nevada to Donner Pass to Emigrant Gap to Sutter's Fort (Sacramento, California). The exact route varied over the years, the most used being the Nevada City Road and Auburn Emigrant Road combination.
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[3]
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada through central Nevada on a route south of the Humboldt River][4]
Military History and Records
World War, 1914-1918
- The Banks compilation of birth data of men with links to Churchill County, Nevada, who were born 1873-1900: as found in the civilian registration cards [L.D.S. microfilm series of World War I Selective Service draft registration cards]. FHL
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- Churchill County records FHL
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Periodicals
- In focus: annual journal of the Churchill County Museum Association FHL
- Trails to Churchill County: Historical and Genealogical Society quarterly FHL
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Churchill County Courthouse
155 N Taylor Street 110
Fallon, NV 89406
Phone: 775.423.6028
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1905. [5]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Churchill County Library
553 S Maine St
Fallon, NV 89406
775-423-7581
Museums
- Churchill County Museum and Archives
1050 South Maine Street
Fallon, NV
Societies
- Churchill Historical and Genealogical Society
c/o Churchill County Museum
1050 S Maine St
Fallon, NV 89406-8824
775-423-3677
http://www.ccmuseum.org
Taxation
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
Vital Records
- Some Churchill County, Nevada, records, 1850-1900: a researchers guide FHL
Birth
- Birth records of Churchill County, Nevada FHL
Marriage
- Churchill County records FHL
v. 3. Marriage records/notices:
Churchill County marriage records 1903-1920
Marriage notices from newspapers 1894-1920
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| |||||||||||||
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Churchill County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 17:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,720 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



