Churston Ferrers, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Chruston Ferrers, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Churston Ferrers, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Haytor
County Devon
Poor Law Union Totnes PLU
Registration District Totnes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHURSTON-FERRERS, a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon, 1½ mile (N. W.) from Brixham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Churston Ferrers, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Churston Ferrers, Devon Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1589-1837 1590-1836
  • 1589-1653 - Banks, Charles Edward. "The Parish Registers of Churston Ferrers, Co. Devon, England," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Records, Marriages 1590-1653: Vol. 63, No. 3 (Jul. 1932):259-268; Baptisms 1589-1609: Vol. 63, No. 4 (Oct. 1932):351-358; Baptisms 1610-1634: Vol. 64, No. 1 (Jan. 1933):46-53; Baptisms 1634-1650: Vol. 64, No. 3 (Jul. 1933):298-303; Burials 1590-1615, Baptisms 1651-1653: Vol. 64, No. 4 (Oct. 1933):396-403; Burials 1615-1635: Vol. 65, No. 1 (Jan. 1934):82-87; Burials 1636-1653: Vol. 65, No. 2 (Apr. 1934):182-187. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 63-65. Baptisms 1589-1653, marriages 1590-1653, burials 1590-1653.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 612-616.Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,411 times.