Cibola County, New MexicoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Cibola County

Guide to Cibola County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New Mexico_Online_Genealogy_Records New Mexico
Online Records


Cibola County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 19, 1981
County Seat Cibola
Courthouse
Address Cibola County Courthouse
515 W High Avenue
Grants, NM 87020-2526
Phone:. 505.287.8107
Cibola County Website
Nm-cibola.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Cibola County Courthouse
515 W High Avenue
Grants, NM 87020-2526
Phone:. 505.287.8107 

County Clerk has records from 1981.[1]

History

Parent County

19 June 1981 - New Mexico created Cibola County from the western four-fifths of Valencia County.[1] Look for records in Cibola County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Acoma Pueblo · Acomita · Amado · Anzac · Atarque · Ballejos · Bibo · Bluewater · Budville · Cañada de la Cruz · Carr · Casa Blanca · Closson · Correo · Cranes · Cubero · De Vargas · Diener · El Gallo Spring · El Morro · Fence Lake · Grants · Grants Camp · Grants Station · Harmon · Hayton · Hinkson · Horace · Inscription Rock · Jalaroso · Juan Tafoya · Kettner · Laguna · Laguna Pueblo · Lamance · La Vega de San Jose · Mazon's · McCarty's · Mesita · Milan · Moquino · New Laguna · Ojo del Gallo · Old San Jose · Paguate · Paguate Mesa · Paraje · San Fidel · San Mateo · San Rafael · Santa Maria de Acoma · Sawyer · Seama · Seboyeta · Tank Canyon · Techado · Tingle · Trechado

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

County information:

New Mexico information:

Census

For tips on accessing Cibola County, New Mexico census records online, see: New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Land Records since 1981 are located at the County Clerks Office of Cibola County NM

Land Records before 1981 are located at the County Clerks Office of Valencia County NM

Most of the land in New Mexico was originally obtained from the US federal government by a patent. These General Land Office Records are searchable online and most have free images of patents to download. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cibola County, New Mexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmcibola.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Cibola county NM Newspapers found at Library of Congress

Finding More New Mexico Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cibola County, New Mexico newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Grants New Mexico Family History Center 1010 Bondad Ave Grants NM 87020 United States Location Map

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cibola County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:49.
  • This page has been accessed 12,169 times.