City of London Lying in Hospital FinsburyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png City of London Lying in Hospital Finsbury

Guide to City of London Lying in Hospital Finsbury, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

FINSBURY, a borough, a division, and asub-district, in Middlesex. The borough is an integral part of the metropolis; lies between the Tower Hamlets and Marylebone; took its name, which signifies "fen-town, " from a marshy common, now partly occupied by Finsbury square.[1] The City of London Lying in Hospital, City Road, Finsbury had as part of this hospital a chapel attached, which was principally intended for the "wives of poor industrious Tradesmen or distressed House-keepers" and the wives of soldiers and sailors. City of London Lying In Hospital, City Road, Finsbury was founded in 1750 for married women only. It was later moved to Old Street in 1773 and was renamed the City of London Maternity Hospital in 1918. Its doors were closed in 1983.

London Metropolitan Archives. “Information Leaflet No 15, Records of Patients in London Hospitals.” (London: London Metropolitan Archives, 2000).[2]

In 1803 Mrs Anne Newby of the City of London Lying-in-Hospital received a medal of the Humane Society for her extraordinary success in recovering 500 babies, who at first were thought to be stillborn.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Finsbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 612-616. Date accessed: 13 November 2013.
  2. London Metropolitan Archives: Information Leaflet No. 15, Records of Patients in London Hospitals" (London: London Metropolitan Archives, 2000) See at: http://www.cityoflondon.gov.uk/NR/rdonlyres/CCC46C5A-AA5A-434E-AB41-EBB25CB0C513/0/LH_LMA_poorlaw.PDF



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 15:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,852 times.