Clackamas County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Clackamas County

Guide to Clackamas County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Clackamas County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Clackamas County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 5, 1843
County Seat Oregon City
Courthouse
Address Clackamas County Courthouse
719 Main Street
Oregon City, OR 97045
Phone: 503.722.2745
Clackamas County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records 1846.
State Archivist has custody of some old county records.[1]

Records held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Clackamas County, Oregon
Willamettefishingatfalls.jpg


Named after the Native Americans living in the area, the Clackamas Indians, part of the Chinookan people.

Parent County

5 July 1843: Clackamas county was created from the Oregon Territory. [2]

Boundary Changes

11 January 1854: Wasco County set off.

22 December 1854: Multhomah County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Barlow | Canby | Damascus | Estacada | Gladstone | Happy Valley | Johnson City | Lake Oswego | Milwaukie | Molalla | Oregon City | Portland | Rivergrove | Sandy | Tualatin | West Linn | Wilsonville

Hamlets

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Beavercreek | Mulino | Stafford

Village

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Mount Hood Village

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Barton | Boring | Brightwood | Carver | Colton | Cottrell | Eagle Creek | Government Camp | Jennings Lodge | Liberal | Marmot | Marquam | Marylhurst | Oak Grove | Oatfield | Redland | Rhododendron | Riverside | Springwater | Wankers Corner | Welches | Wemme | Yoder | Zigzag

Neighboring Counties

Hood River | Marion | Multnomah | Wasco | Washington | Yamhill

Resources

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

  • 1845  Territorial Original, Transcription and Index
  • 1849  Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1850
  • 1854 Original, Transcription and Index
  • 1855 State Original
  • 1856 Transcriptions and Index
  • 1857 State Original and Transcription
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orclackamas.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Clackamas County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:

Clackamas County Coroner's Inquest 1859-1883, Certificates of Death 1921-1944

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Gladstone, OR 97027-1416 United States Location Map

United States Location Map

Boring OR 97009 United States Location Map

Wilsonville, OR 97070-9465 United States Location Map

Websites

Clackamas County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clackamas County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:40.
  • This page has been accessed 21,611 times.