Claiborne County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Claiborne County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Claiborne County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Claiborne County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Claiborne County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 27 January, 1802
County Seat Port Gibson
Courthouse
Address Claiborne County Courthouse]
PO Box 449;
Port Gibson, MS 39150
Phone: 601.437.4992
Claiborne County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Claiborne County Courthouse
PO Box 449;
Port Gibson, MS 39150
Phone: 601.437.4992

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage records from 1816, divorce records from 1856, probate and court records from 1802. [1]

Beginning Dates for Claiborne County, Mississippi Government Records
[[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Birth]] [[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Marriage]] [[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Vital_Records">Death]] [[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Census">Census]] [[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Land_and_Property">Land]] [[<span class=|Claiborne County, Mississippi#Probate_Records">Probate]]

1816



1802

History

William C C Claiborne.JPG

The county is named after Governor of Louisiana and Governor of Mississippi Territory William C. C. Claiborne (c1775-1817).[2]

Parent County

1802--Claiborne County was created 27 January 1802 from Jefferson County.
County seat: Port Gibson [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Claiborne County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Presbyterian

First Presbyterian Church, Port Gibson

  • 1828-1885 - First Presbyterian Church, Port Gibson, Baptism Index 1828-1885. Batch C714111 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1828-1895 - First Presbyterian Church, Port Gibson, Marriage Index 1828-1895. Batch M714111 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Claiborne County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Claiborne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Claiborne County. 
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company C - Port Gibson Riflemen, aka Port Gibson Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company F - Port Gibson Riflemen
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company K - Abbay’s Battery
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Company F - Claiborne Volunteers
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Magruder’s Partisan Rangers
Company D - McLean’s Company
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company H - Claiborne Guards [also listed as Co. K]
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Claiborne County

Map showing Civil war battles in Mississippi.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Claiborne County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Claiborne County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Claiborne County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Claiborne County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:20.
  • This page has been accessed 15,147 times.