Claiborne Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Claiborne Parish
Guide to Claiborne Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Claiborne Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 13, 1828 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Homer | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 512 East Main Street Homer, LA 71040 | ||||||||
| Website: www.claiborneone.org/cppj | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish County Courthouse
Claiborne Parish Courthouse
512 E Main Street
Homer, LA 71040
Phone: 318.927.9601
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate,
court and land records from 1850.[1]
History
The parish is named after Governor of Louisiana and Governor of Mississippi Territory William C. C. Claiborne (c1775-1817).[2]
Parent Parish
1828--Claiborne Parish was created 13 March 1828 from Natchitoches Parish.
Parish seat: Homer [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Claiborne Parish boundary changes. (map also shows parish boundaries for census years)
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 23,029 | ||
| 1910 | 25,050 | 8.8% | |
| 1920 | 27,885 | 11.3% | |
| 1930 | 32,285 | 15.8% | |
| 1940 | 29,855 | −7.5% | |
| 1950 | 25,063 | −16.1% | |
| 1960 | 19,407 | −22.6% | |
| 1970 | 17,024 | −12.3% | |
| 1980 | 17,095 | 0.4% | |
| 1990 | 17,405 | 1.8% | |
| 2000 | 16,851 | −3.2% | |
| Est. 2006 | 16,210 | [3] | −3.8% |
| Claiborne Parish Census Data[4] | |||
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Claiborne Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project *Family History Library Catalog
- Claiborne Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed.Claiborne Parish, Louisiana p 290 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Claiborne Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22027.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 04:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,036 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



