Clandown, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Clandown, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clandown, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chewton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton PLU
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLAPTON (or CLANDOWN), a tything, in the parish of Midsomer Norton, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chewton, E.division of Somerset, 6¾ miles (N. by E.) from Shepton Mallet.[1]

CLAPTON, a tything and a chapelry in Midsomer-Norton parish, Somerset. The tything lies near the Radford canal, 7½ miles NNE of Shepton-Mallet town and r. station. Pop., 173. Houses, 27. The chapelry includes the tything, but is much more extensive; bears also the name of Clandown, and was constituted in 1849. Post town, Midsomer-Norton, under Bath.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clandown, Somerset chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
CLANDOWN CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1912
1850-1912
1848-1912


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474596.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 16 September 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 16 September 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,404 times.