Clapham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Clapham, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clapham, Sussex
St Mary the Virgin Clapham West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLAPHAM, a parish, in the union of Sutton, hundred of Brightford, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. W.) from Worthing. [1]

Clapham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in the Arun district of  West Sussex.

Church history see Sussex Parish Churches

The parish church of St mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Clapham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See Clapham West Sussex Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun

See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 616-620. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall<br>Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Clapham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Clapham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1692-1886
1572-1887 (gaps)

IGI 1692-1887
PRTS 1571-1902
1590-1901
1572-1901

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1687-1909 Marr 1692-1969 Bur 1685-1998

Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1899

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clapham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 616-620. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 August 2014, at 15:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,260 times.