Clapham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Clapham

Guide to Clapham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clapham, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Settle PLU
Registration District Settle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1690
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office
  

Contents

Parish History

CLAPHAM, a parish, in the union of Settle, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 6 miles (N. W. by W.) from Settle; containing, with the townships of Austwick and Lawkland, 1853 inhabitants, of whom 890 are in the township of Clapham with Newby. A chapel was erected in the village of Austwick in 1840. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
Clapham, Yorkshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1595-1600, 1607-1683 1595-1600, 1617-1683 1595-1600, 1607-1683
FS 1595-1845 1595-1872

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1595.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464272.

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Clapham census enumerators books 1841-1901.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 14 December 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,463 times.