Clark County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Clark County

Guide to Clark County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.33°0′N 87.79°0′W / 39.33°N 87.79°W / 39.33; -87.79

Clark County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Clark County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: March 23, 1819
County Seat Marshall
Courthouse
Clark County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Clark County Courthouse
501 Archer Avenue
Marshall, Illinois 62441
(217) 826-8311
Clark County Website

Contents

Clark County Organization

Clark County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Clark County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1865 1819 1865 1820 1816 1820

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Clark County are kept, see the Clark County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

George Rogers Clark.jpg
Clark County is named for George Rogers Clark who was a Colonel of the Virginia militia and established Colonial control in the Illinois area by the capture of Kaskaskia and Fort Vincennes.

Boundary Changes

  • 22 March 1819: Clark County was created from Crawford County. '[1]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

30 December 1902: - Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities


To see a list of places in Clark County, click on [Show], above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Records and Resources

Bible Records

Biography

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Clark County edition.  This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Clark County residents.  See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

go to Illinois Cemeteries for more information about the following Clark County resources.

 Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)

Published Records Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog County list ePodunk
WorldCat US Genweb Clark County Cemeteries by Township ISGS Cemetery Location Project
Google Books Genealogy Trails

Census

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190024,033
191023,517−2.1%
192021,165−10.0%
193017,872−15.6%
194018,8425.4%
195017,362−7.9%
196016,546−4.7%
197016,216−2.0%
198016,9134.3%
199015,921−5.9%
200017,0086.8%
IL Counties 1900-1990
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

State

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Clark County on page 186.]

Church History and Records

Church records can give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research.

Methodist

Methodist Episcopal

  • Wesley Chapel Courtesy of Rootsweb. Church history, lists some members.

Presbyterian

  • Baliff Church  Courtesy of Rootsweb. Church history, lists some pastors.

United Brethren

  • Histories of Former E.U.B. and United Methodist Churches, Rural Areas, Casey, Illinois. Manuscript. 1978. Other Libraries (WorldCat)

Court Records

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

History

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Clark County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Clark County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Land and Property

go to Illinois Land and Property for more information.

1818-present The original land and property records for Clark County are held by the County Clerk.  The following copies are available: 

Online Resources

Maps

Ilclark.jpg


Military History and Records

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Clark County edition.  This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Clark County residents.  See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Clark County.

- 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and H.
- 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 30th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 79th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F and I.
- 123rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E, F, and G.
- 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 152nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company G.

Newspapers and Obituaries

The Clark County Public Library has a list of newspapers available for genealogy research here

Probate Records

Gotoarrow.png Illinois Probate Records for more information.

Original probate records are usually held by the circuit court clerk.  Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. The following copies are available:

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Clark County are kept, see the Clark County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers 

There are over 4500 Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors.  Microfilm and microfiche may be ordered from the FHL collection at a nominal cost.  Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website.  Call ahead to verify operating hours.  All are welcome.

The following centers are accessible to residents of Clark County, Illinois:

Danville Illinois Family History Center 
1941 N Bowman Ave
Danville, Vermilion, Illinois
Phone: 217-446-5887
Hours: Sat 9:30 am-2 pm

Linton Indiana Family History Center
1000 W Lone Tree Rd
Linton, Greene, Indiana
Phone: 812-847-9044
Hours: Wed. 6-9 pm, Sat 9-2

Terre Haute Indiana Family History Center
1845 N 6 1/2 St
Terre Haute, Vigo, Indiana
Phone: 812-234-0269
Hours: Tue 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Closed: Mondays after 6:00 p.m., all major holidays, inclement weather, whenever Vigo school are on delays or early dismissals.
Attention: The Center is also available by appointment with a Family History Consultant.

Vincennes Indiana Family History Center
1940 N Old Hwy 41
Vincennes, Knox, Indiana
Phone: 812-882-4022
Hours: T, Thu 9am-12:30pm, 5pm-8:30pm
Closed: Closed 1 1/2 weeks for Christmas

Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries

Clark County Genealogical Library

521 Locust Street
Marshall ,IL 62441
1–217–826-2864

The Clark County Genealogical Library is open Thur, Fri and Sat from 12:30pm to 3pm. They have extensive newspaper records, most of the extracts have been indexed. They also have an incredible selection of family histories, the majority of which are also indexed. They have a shelf on cemeteries of the county and listings of burials up to around 1972. Censuses are indexed, too. The ladies manning the place can help direct you to family histories for specific names. The library is located on the south side of the courthouse square in Marshall. It faces the courthouse.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments.  Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts.  The records of Clark County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093

Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.

Libraries

Casey Twp. Library
307 E Main
Casey, IL 62420
Phone: 1–217–932–2105

Marshall Public Library
612 Archer Avenue
Marshall, IL 62441
Phone: 1–217–826–2535
This library holds microfilm of all local newspapers since the Civil War.

Martinsville Public Library District
120 E. Cumberland St.
Martinsville, IL 62442
Phone: 1–217–382–4113

West Union District Library
209 W. Union Street
West Union, IL 62477
Phone: 1–217–279–3556

Schools

Social Groups Online

Societies

Facebook
Clark County Historical Society and Museum
402 S 4th St
Marshall Illinois
(217) 826-2252
Facebook
The Clark County Historical Society buildings are open each Sunday afternoon from 2-4 p.m.

Taxation

Vital Records

Gotoarrow.png Illinois Vital Records for more information. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Births

1877–present  The original Clark County birth records 1877- present are housed in the office of the County Clerk. The following copies are available:

  • 1877-1906 Birth Record - IRAD-EIU Search for Clark County records. How to use IRAD
  • 1877-1913 Birth Record Index – IRAD-EIU Search for Clark County records.

Marriages

1819–presentThe original Clark County marriage records 1819-present are housed in the office of the County Clerk. The following copies are available:

The following abstracts and indexes are available:

Deaths

1877–present The original Clark County death records 1877-present are housed in the office of the County Clerk. The following copies are available:

  • 1877–1911 Death Record - IRAD-EIU Search for Clark County records. How to use IRAD
  • 1877–1911 Death Record Index - IRAD-EIU Search for Clark County records.

The following abstracts are available:

Websites

Databases pertinent to Clark County

References

  1. WorldCat 50140092, FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 35,948 times.