Clark County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Clark County
Guide to Clark County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Clark County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | February 3, 1801 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Jeffersonville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Clark County Courthouse City Court Bldg 501 E Ct Avenue Jeffersonville, IN 47130 Phone: 812.285.6244 | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Quick Facts: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/18/18019.html
(Source U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts. Data derived from Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, State and County Housing Unit Estimates, County Business Patterns, Nonemployer Statistics, Economic Census, Survey of Business Owners, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report )
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
- Floyd
- Jefferson
- Jefferson County, Kentucky
- Oldham County, Kentucky
- Scott
- Trimble County, Kentucky
- Washington
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
Bethelehem Township (Bethlehem, Indiana):
- Antioch Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Bethlehem Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 09/06/97)
- Camp Creek Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; no further information at this time)
- Louden Cemetery Mikesell Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- New Hope Cemetery
- Otto Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; no further information at this time)
- Palmer Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; no further information at this time)
- Patterson Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Ross Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 11/24/97)
- Tiaris Cemetery
- Turner Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Waters Cemetery (mistakenly known as "Stoner Cemetery"; some info on-line as of 07/16/97)
Carr Township (Bennettsville and Carrwood, Indiana):
- Adkins Cemetery (added 03/05/2000)
- Allen Cemetery (a/k/a Jenkins Cemetery) (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Hagest Cemetery (a/k/a Keibler Cemetery and Hitch Cemetery) (On-Line Index Updated 07/05/97)
- Hickory Grove Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 11/22/97)
- Merrill-Ward Cemetery
- Miller Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 11/27/97)
- Stone Grave at Deam Lake (single burial) (added 08/11/99
- ) Wagner Cemetery at Deam Lake (added 08/11/99)
Charlestown Township (Charlestown and part of Otisco, Indiana):
- Armstrong Cemetery Baird Cemetery (a/k/a King Cemetery, 54 Cemetery and 74 Cemetery)
- Bottorff Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Caldwell Cemetery (a/k/a Lutz/Prather Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 07/11/97)
- Carter Cemetery
- Charlestown Cemetery
- Coble Cemetery
- County Poor Farm Cemetery THIS ONE IS GONE! NO KNOWN MARKERS
- Crace Cemetery
- Douglas Cemetery
- Faris Cemetery (on Tunnel Mill Road at Boy Scout Reservation) (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Goodwin Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Goodwin/Nicholson Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Hammond Cemetery
- Hester-Rowland Cemetery
- Kessler Cemetery (a/k/a Faris Cemetery II) (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Long Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Mathes Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- McCormick Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97) [sometimes referred to as "McCullough Cemetery" as the property was at one time owned by Frank McCullough]
- McDonald Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 02/04/2003)
- Meloy Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97) Recently re-discovered; in very bad condition
- Montgomery Cemetery Otisco Cemetery I (a/k/a Seedtick Cemetery)
- Pleasant Grove Cemetery
- Robertson Cemetery (may be the same as "Robinson Cemetery")
- Robinson Cemetery (may be the same as "Robertson Cemetery")
- Salem Methodist Church Cemetery
- Shelby Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 11/28/97)
- Silver Creek Cemetery (Part I -- Abbott to Munk) (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Silver Creek Cemetery (Part II -- Nicholson to Yowler) (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- St. Michael's Cemetery
- James Stuart Plantation Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Weimer Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Worrell/Worrall Cemetery
Jeffersonville Township (Jeffersonville and Clarksville, Indiana):
- Applegate Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97) THIS ONE IS GONE!
- Civil War Cemetery (now known as "Playsquare Park", the playground behind Rosehill Elementary School)THIS ONE IS GONE!
- Eastern Cemetery (f/k/a Chestnut Grove Cemetery)
- Espy Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Gilmore Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Grayson Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Hale McBride Family Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Lacassagne/Moore Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97) THIS ONE IS GONE!
- McBride (David) Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- McClintick Cemetery [McClintick and Sylvester families] (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Old City Cemetery
- Mulberry Street Cemetery and Chestnut/Market Street Cemetery (Historical Info On-Line) THESE SITES ARE ALL GONE!
- St. Anthony's Cemetery
- Stewart Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Walnut Ridge Cemetery
Monroe Township (Henryville, Indiana):
- Allen Cemetery (a/k/a Biggs Cemetery and McBride Cemetery) -- See McBride-Allen-Biggs Cemetery
- Blue Lick Cemetery (a/k/a Mountain Grove Cemetery)
- Bowerman Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; believed to be an erroneous reference to Bowery Cemetery in Union Twp.)
- Cass Cemetery
- Clegg Cemetery (a/k/a Mt. Moriah Cemetery)
- Collings Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Dieterlen Grave (single baby's grave) (added 06/05/99)
- Dietz Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Forest Grove Cemetery (a/k/a Willey's Chapel)
- Guernsey Cemetery (added 01/16/2000)
- Henryville Cemetery
- Hylton-Condrey Cemetery (expecting additional information soon from Jeanne Burke)
- Hosea Family Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/21/97)
- Kaylor-Wilcox Cemetery (small, old family cemetery inside the Clark State Forest at Henryville)
- Little Union Cemetery (sometimes referred to as "Gross Cemetery") (On-Line Index Done 06/22/97)
- McBride-Allen-Biggs Cemetery (a/k/a Allen Cemetery)
- Mt. Lebanon Cemetery (On-Line Index added 08/03/99)
- Mt. Moriah Cemetery (see Clegg Cemetery)
- Mt. Zion Cemetery-- HISTORICAL INFO; NOT AN INDEX (Done 07/07/97)
- Otisco Cemetery II
- Pigeon Roost Cemetery -- Not in Clark County; just north of line in Scott County
- St. Clair Cemetery -- HISTORICAL INFO; NOT AN INDEX (Done 07/07/97)
- St. Francis Catholic Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database as "Henryville Catholic Cemetery")
- Tuttle Cemetery -- Near Bowery Cemetery (had about 10 stones; only 3 remain)
- Wootan Cemetery -- Inside the Clark State Forest (On-Line Index Done 06/22/97)
Oregon Township (Marysville, Indiana):
- Beswick Cemetery (a/k/a Walnut Hill Cemetery) (Partial On-Line Index done 06/22/97; photos added 06/05/99)
- Covert Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/22/97)
- Emmanuel United Methodist Church Cemetery (Photos and on-line Index added 06/05/99)
- Goben Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/22/97)
- Hebron Cemetery
- Kern Cemetery (Photos and on-line index added 06/05/99)
- Otisco Cemetery (see Monroe Township)
- New Market Christian Church Cemetery (Photos added 08/07/2000)
- New Market Presbyterian Church Cemetery (a/k/a Mt. Vernon Cemetery) (Photos added 08/07/2000)
- Sawmill Road Cemetery (Photos and on-line index added 06/05/99)
- States Cemetery (Photos added 08/07/2000)
- Webb Farm Cemetery (GRIFFIN Family buried here) (On-Line Index and Photos Done 12/10/97)
Owen Township (Hibernia, Indiana):
- Bowyer Cemetery (a/k/a Hogan Cemetery) (Photos and index on-line 07/12/98)
- Conn Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/22/97)
- Hibernia Cemetery at Hibernia Christian Church (Photos and some info on-line as of 07/12/98)
- Hogan Cemetery
- Manaugh Cemetery (Some info on-line as of 07/16/97)
- Olive Branch Cemetery (Photos and some info on-line as of 07/16/98)
- Owen Creek Presbyterian/Baptist Church and Cemetery (Photos and some info on-line as of 07/12/98)
- Perry Cemetery THIS ONE IS GONE! (Some info on-line as of 07/16/97)
- Pleasant View Cemetery "NO CEMETERY THERE" (Some info on-line as of 07/16/97)
- Shiloh Cemetery (a/k/a Owen Township Cemetery) (Photos and index on-line as of 07/12/98)
Silver Creek Township (Sellersburg, Speed and Hamburg, Indiana):
- Bottorff/Couch Cemetery
- Cremer/Kramer Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Cunningham Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97) THIS ONE APPEARS TO BE GONE!
- Hendricks Cemetery (a/k/a Sarles Cemetery and Hell's Half Acre)
- Hopewell Baptist Church Cemetery {see McClintick Cemetery in Jeffersonville Township}
- Jenkins Cemetery (added 03/17/2004)
- Lehmanowsky Cemetery (added 10/12/99; believed to be lost; discovered in deed records)
- Phelps Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 11/02/97)
- Poindexter Cemetery (Partial index on-line)
- Plum Run Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/20/97)
- Sellersburg Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- St. Joseph Catholic Church and Cemetery
- Francis Wells Family Cemetery (a/k/a Francis Wells Cemetery) (On-Line Index Done 06/20/97)
- Whalen Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 02/27/99)
Union Township (Memphis, Indiana):
- Black and White Cemetery (a/k/a Weir or Wilson Cemetery) (On-Line Index Done 07/06/97)
- Bowery Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Ebenezer Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
Utica Township (Utica, Indiana):
- Adams Family Cemetery (newly discovered site, added 12/29/1999) -- THIS CEMETERY IS SCHEDULED TO BE DISMANTLED IN 2001
- Barnett Cemetery (a/k/a Adams Cemetery) [BLIZZARDs, HILTIBIDALs and YOUNGs buried here]
- Briar Hill Cemetery (Slave and Free Blacks Cemetery)
- Burtt Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Friend Cemetery (a/k/a Dailey Cemetery) (On-Line Index added 12/97)
- Hillcrest Cemetery (a/k/a Utica Cemetery)
- Koonz Cemetery[SPANGLERs buried here] (On-Line Index and Photos added 11/30/97)
- Lentz Family Cemetery (Partial on-line index added 06/02/98)
- Lentz Heirs Cemetery (Family of John George Summers) (On-Line Index Done 07/11/97)
- New Chapel Cemetery (Part I -- Adams to Lawrence) (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- New Chapel Cemetery (Part II -- Lawton to Young) (On-Line Index Done 06/03/97)
- Queen of Heaven Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery (added 08/08/2001)
- Stacy Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 09/21/97)
- Union Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Part Two of Union Cemetery index (J-Z)
- Utica Cemetery (Part I -- Abernathy to Jenning) (On-Line Index Done 07/05/97)
- Utica Cemetery (Part II -- Johnson to Snider) (On-Line Index Done 07/05/97)
- Utica Cemetery (Part III -- Solfrank to Zinck) (On-Line Index Done 07/05/97)
- Washington Cemetery
Washington Township (New Washington and Nabb, Indiana):
- Adams Cemetery (a/k/a Fifer Cemetery) (On-Line Index Done 06/23/97)
- Barnes Cemetery (Historical information and on-line index)
- Barnes Community House Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; no further info at this time)
- Britan Cemetery (a/k/a Pisgah Cemetery) (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Crown Hill Cemetery (On-Line Index added 08/11/99)
- Fouts/Robison Cemetery (Historical information only)
- Frazier Family Cemetery
- Glass Family Cemetery
- Grayfriar-McMillen Cemetery
- Lawrence Cemetery
- Izzard Cemetery
- New Washington Christian Church and Cemetery (On-Line Index added 08/19/99)
- Staples Cemetery
- Work Cemetery (a/k/a Bower-Work Cemetery and Henly-Work Cemetery)
Wood Township (Borden and Starlight, Indiana):
- African-American Cemetery near Daisy Hill Cemetery
- Borden Town Cemetery (Old) (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Daisy Hill Cemetery
- Dow Cemetery
- Emmanuel Cemetery
- Fisher Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Gibson Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Goss Cemetery I (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Goss Cemetery II (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- Gruen CemeteryTHIS ONE IS GONE!
- Hallett Cemetery
- Johnson Family Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- McKinley-Packwood Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- New Chapel Cemetery (on Indiana State Library Cemetery Database; apparently different from New Chapel Cem. in Utica Twp.; no further info at this time)
- Newman/Fisher Cemetery THIS ONE IS GONE!
- Pleasant Ridge Cemetery Robertson Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
- St. John the Baptist Catholic Church and Cemetery
- Swayback Cemetery -- According to the Township Trustee, this cemetery is in WASHINGTON County, not Clark County Walnut Hill Cemetery [not the same as Walnut Hill Cemetery in Oregon Twp.]
- Whitson Cemetery
- Wood Cemetery (On-Line Index Done 06/24/97)
URL: http://www.usgennet.org/usa/in/county/clark/cemeteries/cemindex.html#Township_Cemetery_Directory
Census Records
For tips on accessing Clark County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Selected Residents of Clark County, Indiana Territory (1809) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Clark County (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
- Early Members of Silver Creek Baptist Church ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Histories
Local Histories
- Clark County, Indiana: History - Linkpendium
- Baird, Lewis C. 1972. Baird's history of Clark County, Indiana. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic 977.2185 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ACHIVE
- Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
Land and Property
Maps
- Clark County, Indiana: Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
Military Records
- African American Veterans in Clark County (1890) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Clark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clark County.
- 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company M
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company E
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company G, and I
- 12th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company M
- 22nd Regiment, Indiana InfantryCompany D
- 23rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and I
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 38th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and H
- 49th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, and D
- 53rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 81st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, and I
- 133rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
- 137th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, and G
- 28th US Colored Troops, Company E, and Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Books
- "The Military History of Clark County" chapter 18-19 in Baird, Lewis C. 1972. Baird's history of Clark County, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic) (page 178-205, Regiment, Compaies) 977.2185 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Clark County Courthouse
City Court Bldg 501 E Ct Avenue
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Phone: 812.285.6244
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1850 and court records.
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records.[1]
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Clark County Historical Society
P.O. Box 606
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Source: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~insigs/
Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
The Southern Indiana Genealogical Society was formed May 3,1979, to encourage, gather and preserve genealogy materials and information in the seven southern Indiana counties of Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Scott, Perry, and Washington.
Our general meetings are held the first Thursday of each month at the NewAlbany-Floyd County Public Library in New Albany, Indiana. Membership meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. After a short business meeting, a qualified speaker presents a program of a genealogical or historical nature.
Our collection of genealogical materials is housed in the Indiana History Room of the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library. We are a non-profit organization, operated by volunteers. A listing of "For Hire" researchers is available upon request from the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library, 180 W. Spring Street, New Albany, IN.
Family History Centers
School Records
- Directory of Teachers (1936) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
Source: http://vitalrec.com/incounties5.html#Clark
Clark County Vital Records
Clark County Health Dept.
1320 Duncan Ave
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
(812) 282-7521
Clark County Court House Clerks Office
501 East Court Avenue
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
812) 282-7765
Birth Records
Record Cost Dates Ordering Notes Birth $10.00 since 1882 Order Online Mail Order from Health Dept Death $10.00 since 1882 Order Online Mail Order from Health Dept Genealogy Request $5.00 for up to 5 names since 1882 Mail Order from Health Dept Marriage $2.00 certified copy since 1807 from Clerks Office
Marriage Records
Death Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Voter Registration
- Voters of Clark County, Indiana Territory (1802) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Clark County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 19:08.
- This page has been accessed 4,886 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
