Clark County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Clark County

Guide to Clark County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


_Clark County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 16, 1836
County Seat Kahoka
Courthouse
Address Clark County Courthouse
111 E Court Street
Kahoka, MO 63445-1268
Phone: 660.727.3283
Clark County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court,
and  land records from 1836[1]

History

Parent County

1836--Clark County was created 16 December 1836 from Lewis County. County seat: Kahoka [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hancock County, Illinois  • Knox  • Lee County, Iowa  • Lewis  • Scotland  • Van Buren County, Iowa  •

Clark CountyScotland CountySchuyler CountyLewis CountyKnox CountyMarion CountyAdair CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyMacon CountyShelby CountyJefferson CountyVan Buren CountyHenry CountyDes Moines CountyWarren CountyHenderson CountyLee CountyHancock CountyMcDonough CountyAdams CountySchuyler CountyBrown CountyPike CountyMOClark1.JPG


Resources

Biography

  • All of the family biographies from the 1887 History of Clark County, Missouri by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Clark County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clark County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Lewis, Clark, Knox and Scotland Counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present...family records. St. Louis : Goodspeed, 1887.

Maps

Moclark.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
:- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company E
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company H
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company I
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company G
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company F

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clark County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1883 - Clark County Birth Index 1883. Batch C514776 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1887 - Clark County Birth Index 1883-1887. Batch C514775 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1836-1895 - Clark County Marriage Index 1836-1895. Batch M514771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1856-1872 - Clark County Marriage Index 1856-1872. Batch M514772 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1872-1881 - Clark County Marriage Index 1872-1881. Batch M514773 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Clark County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M514774 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883 - Clark County Death Index 1883. Batch B514777 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Clark County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Clark County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Clark County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Clark County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Clark County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Clark County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clark County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 9,716 times.