Clark County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Clark County
Guide to Clark County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Clark County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 5, 1909 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Las Vegas |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 200 S 3rd Street Las Vegas, NV 89155-1601 Phone: 702.455.3156 Clark County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 5 February 1909 from Lincoln
- County seat: Las Vegas[1]
- Neighboring Counties: Inyo County, California | Lincoln, Nevada | Mohave County, Arizonia | Nye, Nevada | San Bernardino County, California
Historical Timeline
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1846 to 1863 - New Mexico Territory included land that later would become Arizona and southern Nevada.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory set up counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including land that became Arizona and southern Nevada. Present-day Clark County, Nevada was once part of Taos, and Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, and Valencia counties of New Mexico.[2] [3] There is a small chance that a few records from 1846 to 1963 may have been sent to courthouses in their respective New Mexico counties.
- 29 December 1863 – Arizona's three judicial districts were established by the Arizona Territory Organic Act from the western half of New Mexico Territory.[4] All previous counties were dissolved, and eventually four new counties were created in the new Arizona Territory.
- By November 1864 – Mohave County was created by the Arizona legislature as an original county from parts of the 2nd and 3rd Judicial Districts. A part of the 3rd Judicial District, Arizona eventually became Clark County, Nevada.[4] Some records from 1863 to 1871 may have been sent to the Mohave County, Arizona offices.
- 22 December 1865 – Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona from part of Mohave County.[5] Some records from 1865 to 1871 may have been sent to the Pah-Ute County offices. When part of Pah-Ute County was given to Nevada those records were probably transferred to either Mohave County, Arizona, or to Lincoln or Nye counties in Nevada.
- 18 January 1867 – Pah-Ute County, and Mohave County, Arizona Territory west of the Colorado River and west of 114° west longitude were given to Nevada by the U.S. Congress. This area became the southern part of Lincoln, and Nye counties, and eventually Clark County, in Nevada.[5] In 1871, after many petitions Arizona ceased to claim this land.
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Bunkerville Cemetery, Bunkerville
- Palm Memorial Henderson, Henderson
- Southern Nevada Veterans Memorial Cemetery, near Boulder City
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Boulder City
- Bunkerville
- Charleston (Las Vegas)
- Henderson
- Las Vegas 1
- Las Vegas 2
- Logandale
- Mesquite
- Overton
- St. Thomas
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Clark County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah.[6]
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California.[7]
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah (among others) to Omaha, Nebraska.[8]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Clark County Courthouse
200 S 3rd Street
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1601
Phone: 702–455–3156
County Clerk has probate, divorce and court records.
County Recorder has marriage and land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records.[1]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Black Mountain Nevada Family History Center
- Boulder City Nevada Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada East Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada FHC
- Las Vegas Nevada Large Multi-stake Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada Sandstone Family History Center
- Las Vegas Nevada Warm Springs Family History Center
- Logandale Nevada Family History Centers
- Mesquite Nevada Family History Center
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project for Clark County, Nevada
- Family History Library Catalog
- Clark County Genealogy (Nevada Genealogy)
Places
| Amber | Cactus Springs | Glendale | Moapa Valley | Sandy Valley |
| Apex | Cal-Nev-Ari | Goodsprings | Mount Charleston | Searchlight |
| Arden | Carver Park | Henderson | Mountain Springs | Sloan |
| Arrolime | Desert View Point | Indian Springs | Nelson | Spring Valley |
| Arrowhead | Dike | Jackman | North Las Vegas | Stewarts Point |
| Bard | Dry Lake | Jean | Overton | Ute |
| Blue Diamond | East Las Vegas | Las Vegas | Paradise | Valley |
| Bonnie Springs | Echo Bay | Laughlin | Primm | Wann |
| Borax | Enterprise | Logandale | Ripley | Whitney |
| Boulder City | Erie | Lovell | Riverside | Winchester |
| Boulder Junction | Farrier | Mesquite | Roach | |
| Bracken | Garnet | Moapa | Saint Thomas | |
| Bunkerville | Glassand | Moapa Town | Sandy |
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 442-43 Clark, Lincoln, and Nye counties. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Wikipedia contributors, "1st Arizona Territorial Legislature" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1st_Arizona_Territorial_Legislature (accessed 8 August 2011).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Pah-Ute County, Arizona" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pah-Ute_County,_Arizona (accessed 8 August 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 17:41.
- This page has been accessed 2,035 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
