Clark Tree, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Idaho County

Contents

Resources

Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Idaho County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Grangeville[1].

Census

For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Cemeteries

The Idaho GenWeb Project, Idaho County has a listing of all Idaho County cemeteries, along with many cemetery photos. In addition, there is a clickable map showing the locations of all the cemeteries.

There are many cemeteries in Idaho County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Idaho County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Church

St. Peter and Paul Catholic Church
(208) 983-0403
stspeterandpaulparish.org/

United Methodist Church of Grangeville
(208) 983-0310
www.umc.org

Saint Catherine of Siena Parish
(208) 935-2130
http://saintcatherines.weebly.com/

Church of the Nazarene
(208) 983-0552
www.nazarene.org

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
(208) 983-2110
www.lds.org

Kamiah Seventh Day Adventist Church
(208) 935-0388
www.adventist.org

Trinity Lutheran Church of Grangeville
(208) 983-0562
www.Grangevilletrinitylutheran.org

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Idaho County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Idaho County courthouse in Grangeville, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

Some of the records of the courts of Idaho County that have been microfilmed include:

  • Power of attorney, 1878-1958; index, 1878-1895 
  • Separate property of married women, 1898-1903; index, 1898-1903
Judgment Books
  • Judgments, 1870-1930; index, ca. 1870-1900

History

The official Idaho County website includes an "Our History" page.

The digitized book An illustrated history of north Idaho : embracing Nez Perces, Idaho, Latah, Kootenai and Shoshone counties, state of Idaho is available online at archive.org.

WorldCat.org is an excellent resource for locating published and archival materials on the history of Idaho County. Books include:

  • Pioneer days in Idaho County, by M Alfreda Elsensohn; Eugene F Hoy
  • Idaho County voices : a people's history from the pioneers to the present, by Zona Chedsey; Carolyn Frei
  • Major Fenn's country, by Neal Parsell
  • Idaho County newspaper items, 1886-1903, by Carol Anglen
  • River & prairie "news", 1904-1913 : (Idaho County's brides, babies, burials n' bullets), by Carol Anglen
  • Times past : a photographic history of Idaho County, by the Idaho County Free Press
  • Over a century of murder in Idaho County, 1861-1994, by Idaho County Historical Society and the Bicentennial Historical Museum

Note: This is not a comprehensive list. Many other works exist. WorldCat lists materials on history, biography, ethnic and religious groups, and other features of Idaho County.

Land

Included with the standard county land records are Indian patents, 1895-1909, mostly for some of the Nez Perce Indians.

Maps

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Idaho County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452216) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Idaho County. The originals are held in the Idaho County courthouse in Grangeville, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Naturalization

The original naturalization records of Idaho County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalizations.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

Boise News- 1863:9:29-1864:10:22 Idaho mountaineer - 1941:5:15-1958:6:26 Idaho patriot - 1864:10:9 Idaho times - 1866:11:2 Idaho world, 1864 - 1864:10:29-1918:11:1 Idaho world, 1958 - 958:1:2-9999 Ladies mite - 864:7:10

Pension Records

Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Idaho County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.


Probate

Generally speaking, probate records are kept at the county level and can be accessed at the county courthouse in the county in which the transaction took place.  This would be Grangeville in Idaho County.

There are copies of some early probate records available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake or at one of its affiliate family history centers.

The Idaho State Archives has also made microfilm copies of some of the earlier Idaho County probate records, and these can be viewed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Idaho County should be in the courthouse in Grangeville and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

Vital Records

Birth

The birth registers for Idaho County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Idaho County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Idaho Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.

In the Idaho Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records) records, there are 152 births or christenings listed for Idaho County.

Marriage

Over 2800 marriages, 1862-1929, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

There are 4558 marriages from Idaho County online at Idaho Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records).

Death

The Death Registers for Idaho County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Idaho County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho Vital Records for details.

Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives (PARL) in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.

A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956. See:  www.deathindexes.com/idaho/index.html

There are also 563 Idaho County death records online at Death Records and Burials

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 430 times.