Clarke County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Clarke County

Guide to Clarke County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Clarke County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 10, 1812
County Seat Grove Hill
Courthouse
Clarke County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Clarke County Courthouse
114 Court Street
Grove Hill, AL 36451
(251) 275-3363
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1814 and land records from 1820 Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records Health Clinic has birth and death records [1]

History

Parent County

1812--Clarke County was created 10 December 1812 from Washington County.
County seat: Grove Hill [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alclarke.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Clarke County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 5,839
1830 7,595 30.1%
1840 8,640 13.8%
1850 9,786 13.3%
1860 15,049 53.8%
1870 14,663 −2.6%
1880 17,806 21.4%
1890 22,624 27.1%
1900 27,790 22.8%
1910 30,987 11.5%
1920 26,409 −14.8%
1930 26,016 −1.5%
1940 27,636 6.2%
1950 26,548 −3.9%
1960 25,738 −3.1%
1970 26,724 3.8%
1980 27,702 3.7%
1990 27,240 −1.7%
2000 27,867 2.3%
2010 25,833 −7.3%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960
For tips on accessing Clarke County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Clarke County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Clarke County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.1245 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clarke County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Ball, Rev. T. H. A Glance into the Great South-East, on, Clarke County, Alabama, and its Surroundings, from 1540 to 1877. Grove Hill, AL, USA: n.p., 1882. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Graham, John Simpson. History of Clarke County. Birmingham, Ala.: Press of Birmingham Print. Co., 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clarke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Clarke County.

- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Frank Lyon Rifles"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Kings Guard"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Dickinson Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, E, G and H
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and I
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D [also called Co. "G"]



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clarke County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Clarke County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Clarke County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1816 - Inhabitants of Alabama in 1816. Broken Arrow Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Clarke County.
  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Clarke County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1812–1891, 1899, 1918, 1920, 1929, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1814-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
  • 1814-1891 - McManus, Grace Kelly. Clarke County, Alabama, Marriage Records 1814-1891. 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

  • There are no 1867 voting registers available for Clarke County.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarke County p. 36. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 15,042 times.