Clatsop County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Clatsop County

Guide to Clatsop County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Clatsop County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Clatsop County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 22, 1844
County Seat Astoria
Courthouse
Or-clatsop-ch.jpg
Address Clatsop County Courthouse
749 Commercial Street
PO Box 178
Astoria, OR 97103
Phone: 503.325.8605
Clatsop County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1860,
divorce and court records from 1875 and probate records from 1880. [1]

Records Held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Clatsop County, Oregon


Named for the Clatsop tribe of Native Americans.

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent County

22 June 1844: Clatsop county was created  from Twality County now Washington County. [1]

Boundary Changes

15 December 1853: Part was taken off to create Tillamook County. [1]

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Astoria | Cannon Beach | Gearhart | Seaside | Warrenton

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Brownsmead | Jewell | Knappa | Sunset Beach | Svensen | Wauna | Westport

Defunct Post Offices

Albert |

Neighboring counties

Columbia | Tillamook | Washington | Washington counties: Pacific | Wahkiakum

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1845 Transcription and Index
  • 1849 Transcription and Index
  • 1850
  • 1859 State Transcription and Index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orclatsop.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.


Historic Oregon Newspapers http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/ as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.

Of particular interest to Clatsop county researchers:

The Daily Astorian
The Daily Morning Astorian 
The Morning Astorian 
Tri-Weekly Astoria 
The Aurora Borealis 

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:

Clatsop County Coroner inquest transcriptions 1870-1901

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Clatsop County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clatsop County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:50.
  • This page has been accessed 11,174 times.