Clay County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Clay County
Guide to Clay County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Clay County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 7, 1866 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Ashland |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Clay County Courthouse County Square Ashland, AL 36251 Phone: (256) 354-7926 Clay County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Court has land records from 1861
Probate records from 1865 marriage records from 1872
County Court has death records 1920-1940 and Voting Register 1903-1936 [1]
History
The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]
Parent County
1866--Clay County was created 7 December 1866 from Randolph and Talladega Counties.
County seat: Ashland [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1875 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biography
Biographies of many notable residents of Clay County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 644.
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Clay County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.
| Clay County, Alabama | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 9,560 | — |
| 1880 | 12,938 | 35.3% |
| 1890 | 15,765 | 21.9% |
| 1900 | 17,099 | 8.5% |
| 1910 | 21,006 | 22.8% |
| 1920 | 22,645 | 7.8% |
| 1930 | 17,768 | −21.5% |
| 1940 | 16,907 | −4.8% |
| 1950 | 13,929 | −17.6% |
| 1960 | 12,400 | −11.0% |
| 1970 | 12,636 | 1.9% |
| 1980 | 13,703 | 8.4% |
| 1990 | 13,252 | −3.3% |
| 2000 | 14,254 | 7.6% |
| 2010 | 13,932 | −2.3% |
| Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml. through 1960 | ||
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Probate Records
- 1830-1976 - Clay County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1872-1948 - Clay County Marriage Books A thru I Index 1872-1948 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1872–1886, 1888–1892, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1872–1886, 1888–1892, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1872–1891 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1872–1891 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- Clay County Marriages at ALGenWeb - free
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Clay County has one book.
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Public Library of Anniston - Calhoun County
108 E. 10th St.
Anniston, Alabama 36201
Telephone: 256-237-8501
- Their Alabama Room collections include local history and genealogical records of Clay County.
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Clay County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Clay County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarke County p. 36. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,651 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

