Clay County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Clay County
Guide to Clay County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Clay County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 16, 1854 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Fort Gaines |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Clay County Courthouse 210 S Washington PO Box 550 Fort Gaines, GA 31751-0550 Phone: 912.768.3238 Clay County Website |
Contents |
Clay County Georgia Courthouse
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and land records[1]
Clay County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Clay County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]
Parent County
1854--Clay County was created 16 February 1854 from Early and Randolph Counties.
County seat: Fort Gaines [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Clay County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Clay County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Marriages
Clay County Marriages 1842-1892, transcript, Georgia Pioneers ($)
Indexes to Clay County Marriages 1871-1877; 1877-1888 Georgia Pioneers (S)
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clay County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Clay County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Index to Will Book A 1852-1922 Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, Book A, 1859-1873 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Index to Annual Returns 1875-1902 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Digital Images of Clay County Wills 1852-1870. See names of Testators Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Marriage
- 1854-1888 - Clay County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1854-1888. Batch M712511 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1889-1929 - Clay County Marriage Books D and E Index 1889-1929. Batch M712512 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Clay County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Clay County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Clay County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Clay County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
Clay County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 23:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,334 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


