Clay County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clay County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Clay County

Guide to Clay County, Kansas Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Clay County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Clay County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1857
County Seat Clay Center
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Clay County Courthouse
712 5th Street
P.O. Box 98
Clay Center, Kansas 67432-0098
Phone: 785.632.2552

Contents

County Information

Clay County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1885 1864 1885 1860 1866 1866

County Courthouse

Clay County Courthouse
712 5th St; PO Box 98
Clay Center, KS 67423-0098
Phone:. 785.632.2552

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1885-1911.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Henry Clay.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[3]

Parent County

1857--Clay County was created 20 February 1857 as an original county.
County seat: Clay Center [4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksclay.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clay County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Men from Clay County enlisted in the 11th Cavalry Regiment, Company L and the 6th and 13th Infantry Regiments.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clay County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Clay and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Kansas 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 July 2015, at 16:35.
  • This page has been accessed 7,534 times.