Clay County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Clay County
Clay County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Clay County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 16, 1867 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Clay Center |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Clay County Courthouse 111 W. Fairfield Street Clay Center, Nebraska 68933 Phone: 402.762.3463 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clay County Courthouse
111 W Fairfield St;
Clay Center, NE 68933
Phone: 402.762.3463
County Clerk has birth and death records 1917-1918,
marriage and land records from 1871 and military records 1921.
Clerk District Court has divorce and naturalization records.
County Court has probate records. [1]
History
The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[2]
Parent County
1867--Clay County was created 16 February 1867 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Clay Center [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Clay County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Clay County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Little Blue River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[4]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[5]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[6]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clay County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
| This Nebraska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2013, at 16:05.
- This page has been accessed 1,099 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
