Clayton County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Clayton County

Guide to Clayton County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Clayton County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Clayton County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded November 30, 1858
County Seat Jonesboro
Courthouse
Address Clayton County Courthouse
9151 Tara Blvd
Jonesboro, GA 30236-3694
Phone: 770.477.4565
Clayton County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Clayton County Courthouse
9151 Tara Blvd
Jonesboro, GA 30236-3694
Phone: 770.477.4565

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and land records from 1859 and court records from 1964.[1]

Beginning Dates for Clayton County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1859

History

Parent County

1858--Clayton County was created 30 November 1858 fromFayette and Henry Counties.  County seat:  Jonesboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

War.jpg

Record Loss

1864 During the American Civil War on 19 August 1864 federal troops under General Armstrong and General Kilpatrick destroyed the courthouse after its records had been removed to safety. Few, if any, records were lost.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

DeKalb County  • Fayette County  • Fulton County  • Henry County  • Spalding County

Clayton CountyFayette CountySpalding CountyHenry CountyFulton CountyDouglas CountyCarroll CountyPaulding CountyCoweta CountyCobb CountyDeKalb CountyGwinnett CountyRockdale CountyWalton CountyNewton CountyButts CountyMonroe CountyLamar CountyPike CountyMeriwether CountyTroup CountyHeard CountyGAClayton.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clayton County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaclayton.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also given)

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Clayton County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clayton County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Wills (digital images) 1857-1865 (see names of testators) Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Clayton County Inventories, Vouchers, Sales 1857-1897; 1898-1957 Georgia Pioneers ($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1859-1870 - Index to Clayton County Marriages 1859-1870 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1859-1880 - Clayton County Marriage Books A and B Index 1859-1880. Batch M712521 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
  • 1877-1894 - Clayton County Marriage Book C Index 1877-1894. Batch M712522 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
  • 1894-1895 - Clayton County Marriage Book D Index 1894-1895. Batch M712523 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Death
  • 1869-70, 1879-80 - Clayton County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clayton County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 14,674 times.