Clayton County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Clayton County

Guide to Clayton County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Clayton County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Clayton County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Elkader
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Clayton County Courthouse
111 High St. SE
Elkrader, IA 52043

(319) 245-2204


History

Clayton County home page

Parent County

1837--Clayton County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County. County seat:  Elkader [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Allamakee • Buchanan • Delaware • Dubuque • Fayette • Winneshiek • Crawford County, Wisconsin • Grant County, Wisconsin

Clayton CountyDubuque CountyDelaware CountyBuchanan CountyFayette CountyWinneshiek CountyAllamakee CountyJackson CountyJones CountyLinn CountyBenton CountyBlack Hawk CountyBremer CountyChickasaw CountyHoward CountyFillmore CountyHouston CountyCrawford CountyGrant CountyVernon CountyRichland CountyLa Crosse CountyMonroe CountyIowa CountyLafayette CountyJo Daviess CountyIAClayton (1).JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Clayton County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Clayton County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Elkader

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Elkader, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Luana

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Luana, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Littleport

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Littleport, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. John's Lutheran Church

  • Records of the St. John's Lutheran Church, Clayton County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Sebald Lutheran Church

  • Records of the St. Sebald Lutheran Church, Strawberry Point, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Strawberry Point

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Strawberry Point, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Clayton County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Clayton County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clayton County, Iowa:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B, D and G
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D and E
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Clayton - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Clayton County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "clayton county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "clayton county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "clayton county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Clayton County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Clayton County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Clayton County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Clayton County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Clayton County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 14:22.
  • This page has been accessed 10,549 times.