Clayworth, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Clayworth, Nottinghamshire
Clayworth Sr Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Clayworth Sr Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford PLU
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLAYWORTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from East Retford.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Clayworth St Peter is an Ancient Parish and includes Drakeshole(s)and Wiseton (sometimes spelled Wyseton)

The parish church of St Peter has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clayworth

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan J.  The Rector's Book Claworth, Notts 1672-1701.  These are extracts transcribed from The Rector's Book for Claworth, when the Rev. William Sampson was Rector.  Note the old spelling of Claworth, although the modern spelling is Clayworth.  Article is an alphabetical  listing of names of parishioners, and sometimes their occupation is included.  Article is available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 5229, and the Nottinghamshire Family History Society, vol. 99, pages 16-42, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Clayworth St Peter's.  Monumental Inscriptions Inside the Church.  This article gives an alphabetical listing of surname, forename, possible relation and age, from 1556-1942, included is Men of Clayworth and Wiseton who fell in the first and second World Wars and those killed in action, and those who served, and what department they were in.  Monuments outside the Church, and Annex Churchyard (Church Lane) up to 1980.  Article available at Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.97, pages 1-10, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.

Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Clayworth (Clavood or Claworth) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Clayworth/index.html

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 624-626. Date accessed: 3 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 19:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,072 times.