Clear Creek County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngClear Creek County

Guide to Clear Creek County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Clear Creek County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Clear Creek County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Georgetown
Courthouse
Address Clear Creek County Courthouse
405 Argentine Street
Georgetown, CO 80444-2000
Phone: 303.679.2339
Clear Creek County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1862[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1871 [2]*
1864 [3]*
1877 [2]*
1862 [4]
1859 [3]
1861 [3]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Georgetown [5]

Clear Creek and Jefferson County Vital Records
800 Jefferson County Parkway -Dakota Building
Golden, CO 80419
303-271-6450
Fax 303-271-6451

Clear Creek County Clerk / Recorder
405 Argentine St.
P.O. Box 2000
Georgetown, CO 80444
303-679-2339  Fax: 303-679-2416
clerk@co.clear-creek.co.us

Parent County

1 November 1861:Clear Creek County was created as an original county.

Neighboring Counties

Coclearcreek.jpg

Boundary Changes

Clear Creek County has had no boundary changes since it was organized in 1861. [6]

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Clear Creek County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Every Name Index to History of Clear Creek and Boulder Valleys, Colorado. Every Name Index compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2011, original text by O. L. Baskin, 1880, reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc., 1971.

Local History

Local histories are available for Clear Creek County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clear Creek County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Colorado State Archives has provided an Index to the Clear Creek County Will Records for the years 1950 to 1964 on-line.

Public Records

For an excellent summary of the genealogical records available in Clear Creek County, see their website here.

School Records

Colorado State Archives has provided an index to the official records of the Clear Creek County Superintendent of Schools that are in the custody of the State Archives. This record is a hand written document identifying the students who were enrolled in School District #5 in 1874. This district generally encompasses what today is the Idaho Springs area. The information contained in the record generally shows the name of the student, date of the record, and where in the school district the child resided.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Clear Creek County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Clear Creek County Naturalization Records 1867 - 1906
Clear Creek County Old Age Pensions 1933 - 1935
Clear Creek County School Census 1874
Clear Creek County Wills 1950 - 1964
Clear Creek County Will Record 1881 - 1947

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries
  • Clear Creek Library District
Museums
Societies

Foothills Genealogical Society of Colorado, Inc.
P.O. Box 150382
Lakewood, CO 80215-0382
Telephone: 303-935-9192
http://www.foothillsgenealogy.org

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

See also Colorado Vital Records

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [8]

For in-state births from 1903 to present, certificates can be obtained from Jefferson County Vital Statistics office. For birth certificates before 1903 contact the county where the birth occurred or the State Health Department at (303) 756-4464.

If you are obtaining a birth certificate for a sibling, parent, grandparent, etc., you will need to show chain of relationship. Examples are: A sibling could provide their birth certificate to show same parents. If you are trying to get a grandparent's birth certificate you will need to show your birth certificate, plus your parent's birth certificate to show chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Marriage

An index of early marriage licenses is available here: Marriage Licenses, 1882-1905.

The earliest county marriage records are in the Clear Creek County Archives.[3]

The Clear Creek County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 303-679-2339.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [8]

Certificates can be obtained from the Jefferson County Vital Statistics office.To obtain a recent death certificate, you must show a direct and tangible interest to the deceased. Relatives include wife, mother, father, child (if they are listed on the death certificate). If they are not listed on the death certificate they must show proof of relationship. This would include maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, siblings if they can prove chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Clear Creek County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 5. Please contact their office directly at 303-679-2339.

Places

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clear Creek County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, pub. by Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, accessed on www.colorado.gov
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  4. Clear Creek County Website, http://www.co.clear-creek.co.us/index.aspx?nid=228, accessed 25 March 2014
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Clear Creek County, Colorado," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clear_Creek_County,_Colorado (accessed 25 March 2014)
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 10,128 times.