Clearwater County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Clearwater County

Guide to Clearwater County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Clearwater County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Clearwater County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 20, 1902
County Seat Bagley
Courthouse
Address Clearwater County Courthouse
213 Main Avenue North
Bagley, MN 56621
Phone: 218-694-6520
Phone: 218-694-6129
Clearwater County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
and military records from 1903.
Court Administrator has divorce probate, court and naturalization records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1902--Clearwater County was created 20 December 1902 from Beltrami County.  County seat: Bagley [2]
  • For a brief history of how Clearwater County was named, click here, then select Clearwater County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bagley | Clearbrook | Gonvick | Leonard | Shevlin

Townships

Bear Creek Township | Clover Township | Copley Township | Dudley Township | Eddy Township | Falk Township | Greenwood Township | Hangaard Township | Holst Township | Itasca Township | La Prairie Township | Leon Township | Minerva Township | Moose Creek Township | Nora Township | Pine Lake Township | Popple Township | Rice Township | Shevlin Township | Sinclair Township | Winsor Township

CDPs

Elbow Lake | Rice Lake

Unorganized

North Clearwater | South Clearwater

Ghost Town

Mallard

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Clearwater – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clearwater County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnclearwater.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearwater County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Clearwater County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 241
    Bagley, MN 56621
    218-785-2000

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clearwater County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 6,599 times.