Cleburne County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Cleburne County

Guide to Cleburne County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Cleburne County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Cleburne County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1883
County Seat Heber Springs
Courthouse
Address Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620

Contents

County Courthouse

Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620

County Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court, and land records from 1883.

Beginning years for Cleburne County, Arkansas government records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1883 1914* 1883 1883 1883
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Heber Springs [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Faulkner • Independence  • Stone  • Van Buren • White

Cleburne CountyWhite CountyFaulkner CountyConway CountyVan Buren CountySearcy CountyStone CountyIndependence CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyPerry CountyPope CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyARCleburne.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Presbyterian

Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman

  • 1878-1885 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Baptism Index 1878-1885. Batch C586771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1878-1895 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Marriage Index 1878-1895. Batch M586771 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cleburne County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The land that became Cleburne County was first inhabited by Native Americans many thousands of years ago.
  • 1541-1542 - One party of Hernando de Soto’s expedition may have traveled as far northwest as Cleburne County.
  • 1680s - It was with the expedition of La Salle, before any record is found of white men’s arriving in the region.
  • 1812 - The earliest known Anglo-Americans to settle in what is now Cleburne County were John Benedict and his brothers-in-law, William, Davis, and John Standlee.
  • 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee agreed to give up their reservation in exchange for lands west of Arkansas Territory.
  • 1850s - By midcentury, there were colonies of families who had traveled together from Kentucky or Tennessee.
  • 1861 - At the time of the Civil War, what was to become Cleburne County had fewer than 1,000 residents.
  • 1870 - The area had lost population.
  • 1880 - The county swiftly recuperated, with the population almost doubling, from 2,210 in 1870 to 4,025 in 1880.
  • 1883 January 27 - The new county was formed from parts of Independence, Van Buren and White counties.
  • 1908 - Construction of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad (M&NA) opened the remote valley to the world.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Cleburne County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cleburne County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cleburne County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Records 1881-1962 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1883-1918; Chancery Court records 1883-1897; Dockets 1883-1893; Probate record index 1881-1962; Probate records 1883-1897; Wills 1901-1923.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cleburne County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cleburne County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansaas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cleburne County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cleburne County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cleburne County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 7,999 times.