Cleeve, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Cleeve, Somerset
Cleeve HolyTrinity Church.jpg
Cleeve HolyTrinity Church
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winterstoke
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bedminster PLU
Registration District Bedminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Yatton with Kenn
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLEEVE, OLD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Williton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset, 18 miles (N. W.) from Taunton, with the chapelry of Leighland. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Cleeve Holy Trinity is an ecclesiastical parish created in 1841 from the Yatton, SomersetAncient Parish.

The parish is now part of the Cleeve with Claverham parish in the Portishead deanery of the Diocese of Bath and Wells and was previously in the Winterstoke hundred and Bedminster Union.

YATTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bedminster, hundred of Winterstoke, E. division of Somerset, 12 miles (S. W.) from Bristol, containing the hamlets of Claverham, Cleeve, and Hewish. A district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected at Cleeve, and consecrated in June, 1840.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cleeve, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
CLEEVE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1840-1912
1844-1912
1840-1912
NBI

1840-1905

Claverham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CLAVERHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
MARR
1752-1835

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474608.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Accessed and addapted: 16 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 2 May 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 18:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,439 times.