Cleobury Mortimer, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stottesden
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Cleobury Mortimer PLU
Registration District Cleobury Mortimer
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLEOBURY-MORTIMER (St. Mary), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Stottesden, S. division of Shropshire, 32 miles(S. S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 137 (N. W.) from London, on the road to Ludlow. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AGEN = accessgenealogy.com/Shrop
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast.co.uk) (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Internet Archive
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
CLEOBURY MORTIMER PARISH (1601) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1601-1910 1601-1861 1813-1912
BOYD None 1603-1712 None
IARC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
JOIN 1601-1811
MLOC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
PALL 1790-1812

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding and comprising the whole ancient parish of to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/CleoburyMortimer/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 626-632. Date accessed: 01 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,819 times.