Clerkenwell St James, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Clerkenwell St James, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Clerkenwell, parish., Middlesex, within Finsbury parl. bor., London, 380 ac. Clerkenwell, par., Middlesex, within Finsbury parl. bor., London, 380 ac.[1]

'St. James Clerkenwell (1551) was an ancient parish...formerly the [mother] parish of several chapels within its boundaries. It had ..."distinct parochial district[s] attached, and...is subdivided into [several]"'.[2]..chapels. One of the larger ones was St John the Baptist, St John Square, Clerkenwell, which was a chapel of ease within the ancient parish of St James Clerkenwell. It was created as part of the Building Act previous to when it began operation--the year 1723. [3]

The following chapels and chapelries were attached to St James Clerkenwell Parish:

  • Holy Redeemer - 1882
  • St James, Pentonville - 1790
  • St John the Baptist, St. John Sq. - 1723
  • St Mark, Myddleton Sq. - 1834
  • St Mary - dissolved to become St James Clerkenwell
  • St Paul, Pear Tree St, Clerkenwell - 1865
  • St Peter, Smithfield Martyrs Church – 1871
  • St Peters
  • St Philip, Granville Square - 1834
  • St Silas, Penton Street, Pentonville - 1866

Clerkwell had as well a number of nonconformist denominations within its boundary, including meeting-houses for Baptists, Society of Friends, Independents (Congregationlists), and Wesleyan and other Methodists chapels (of which one was St James Spafields New Connecion Methodist and, one of which was a Welsh-speaking chapel). [4]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Clerkenwell St James Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1551
1551
1551
Images
1551-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1906 Ancestry[6] 1754-1921 Ancestry[7] 1813-1853 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1551-1754 FamilySearch[9] 1551-1754 FamilySearch[10] 1551-1753 findmypast[11]
1551-1754 Ancestry 1551-1754 Ancestry 1551-1754 Ancestry
1551-1700 InternetArchive[12] 1551-1754 InternetArchive[13] 1551-1665 InternetArchive[14]
1701-1754 InternetArchive[15] 1551-1790 findmypast[16] 1666-1719 InternetArchive[17]
1806-1837 Ancestry[18] 1720-1754 InternetArchive[19]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438776.

1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. P.B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London, (BYU Printing Services, 2010).
  3. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chinley - Chiswick," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 626-632. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848). Adapted. Online here.
  4. 'Clearwell - Clerkenwell', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 626-632. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50882 Date accessed: 10 February 2012.
  5. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James, Clerkenwell in Islington Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Clerkenwell St James in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Clerkenwell St James in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Clerkenwell St James in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  9. Batch P001411, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  10. Batch M001411, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  11. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only (26,146 entries).
  12. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All the Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551 (London, 1884). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All the Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551 (London, 1887). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All the Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551 (London, 1891). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All the Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551 (London, 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994. 29,392 entries.
  17. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All the Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551 (London, 1893). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  19. Robert Hovenden, A True Register of All Christeninges, Mariages, and Burialles in the Parishe of St. James, Clarkenwell from the Yeare of Our Lorde God 1551. (London: Mitchell and Hughes, 1884). Digitised by Internet Archive.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 9,832 times.