Clerkenwell St Mark, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Clerkenwell St Mark, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clerkenwell St Mark, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Clerkenwell PLU
Registration District Clerkenwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Mark Myddelton Square, Clerkenwell, was a district church, partially subdividing and lying within the boundary of the civil parish of St James. It was created and in operation by the year 1827.[1]

St. Mark's, in Myddelton-square, containing 1622 sittings, of which 847 are free, was erected in 1826, by a grant from the Parliamentary Commissioners, at an expense of £16,000, and is a neat edifice in the later English style, with a handsome western front containing a square tower having pierced parapet and pinnacles: the cost of furnishing it, which amounted to £2000, was defrayed by a rate voted by the vestry. The living is a district incumbency; net income, £480; patron, the Bishop of London.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burials from 1830 to 1856 are indexed in Greater London Burials (£)[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438776.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Clerkenwell on GENUKI

References

  1. 1. P.B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London, (BYU Printing Services, 2010). Adapted.
  2. 2. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chinley - Chiswick," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 626-632. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 02 April 2010).
  3. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,434 times.