Cley next the Sea, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Cley next the Sea, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cley next the Sea, Norfolk
Cley next the Sea church St Margaret.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holt
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holt
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLEY (St. Margaret), a small sea-port, a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of Holt, W. division of Norfolk, 26 miles (N. N. W.) from Norwich, and 124 (N. N. E.) from London. It is part of the Glaven Valley which also includes Wiveton, Blakeney, Glandford and Letheringsett.[1] There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. [2]


Cley next the Sea St margaret is an Ancient Parish in the Holt deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

During the Middle Ages it was "one of the principal ports of East Anglia, exporting large quantities of wool and grain. The River Glaven was navigable to large ships as far as Glandford and ran into the sea a half mile north west of Cley."[3] 1612 - a great fire destroyed 117 dwellings near the church.[4] "The Cley Windmill dates from the 1700s although the tower was not completed until some time later. The Customs House and other promienent buildling were also built at this time after much of the old town was destroyed by fire."[5]

William White's 1845 History, Gazetteer and Directory of Norfolk tells that in 1845 Cley next the Sea contained the "custom house for he Port of Blakeney and Cley (including Cromer and several fishing towns)"[6]

Resources

If you live in Norfolk or near Blakeney then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access online records at FamilySearch and other sites mentioned on this page. Additional records (microfilm and online) can be viewed at Family History Centers.   Refer to Cley and Norfolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Cley next the Sea, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[11]
Cley next the Sea, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1900
1559-1901
1558-1900
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1667, 1686-1901 Undefined 1538-1667, 1686-1901 Undefined 1538-1667, 1686-1908
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 270

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham      http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/erpingham_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Detrick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Historical Jottings, booklet (Blakeney, England : 1989) Page 4-5.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 632-635. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  3. "History" Cley Windmill accessed 4 Mar 2014
  4. Detrick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Historical Jottings, booklet (Blakeney, England : 1989) Page 4.
  5. "History" Cley Windmill, accessed 4 Mar 2014.
  6. Pat Newby, transcriber, "William White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Norfolk 1845", GenUKI, http://www.origins.org.uk/genuki/NFK/places/c/cley/white1845.shtml
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  8. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  9. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  10. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  11. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,678 times.