Clifford Chambers, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Clifford Chambers, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clifford Chambers, Gloucestershire
Clifford Chambers St Helen.jpg
Clifford Chambers St Helen
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tewkesbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon PLU
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIFFORD-CHAMBERS (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, Upper division of the hundred of Tewkesbury, though locally in that of the hundred of Kiftsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2½ miles (S. by W.) from Stratford. [1]

The parish was historically part of the county of Gloucestershire until 1931 when local government boundary changes placed it in the county of Warwickshire.

The village claims to be the real birthplace of William Shakespeare as the bubonic plague was rife in Stratford-upon-Avon at the time of the bard's birth and during times of plague Clifford Chambers rectory was used as a refuge. Shakespeare's father's legal advisor also lived in the village, the man who dealt with the Shakespeare's house in Stratford. Until 2004 the village was in its own parish but it is now part of the parish of Clifford Chambers and Milcote.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Clifford Chambers, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
CLIFFORD CHAMBERS PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1538-1808
FREG 1538-1812
JOIN
1538-1808

PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288778.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 632-635.Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,721 times.