Clifton St Andrew, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clifton, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Clifton St Andrew, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clifton St Andrew, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton PLU
Registration District Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1695
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIFTON (St. Andrew), a parish and favourite watering-place, and the head of a union, in the county of the city of Bristol, 1¼ mile (W.) from Bristol, 14 miles (N. W.) from Bath, and 121 (W. by S.) from London. A church dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and accommodating 1600 persons, has been built at the Hot Wells, for the poor; and there are a private Episcopal chapel, and a district church dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, the latter in the later English style, and erected by the Bristol Diocesan Association. Christ church, at Clifton Park, was consecrated in Oct. 1844. There are places of worship for the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion and Wesleyans; also a floating chapel for seamen, called the Clifton Ark; and a Roman Catholic chapel in a superb style of Grecian architecture.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[3]
CLIFTON ST ANDREW PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1695-1874 1695-1880
BOYD 1726-1840

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288786.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 635-639.Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2014, at 19:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,742 times.